Duhallow too good for MTU as they advance to the divisional final on Sunday

Duhallow too good for MTU as they advance to the divisional final on Sunday

Donncha O'Connor (Duhallow) was superb against MTU Cork,

Duhallow 2-18 

MTU Cork 1-9 

DONNCHA O’CONNOR rolled back the years to help Duhallow qualify for the final of the Bon Secours Divisions/Colleges section of the PSFC at Glantane on Wednesday.

Duhallow led by 1-11 to 0-6 at half-time with Donncha heavily involved throughout and finishing the period with 0-7, five frees.

MTU settled quickly, too, and were only 0-4 to 0-3 in arrears by the eighth minute, courtesy of David O’Connor’s free, but the divisional side cut loose.

They compiled 1-3 in five minutes, the goal coming in the 11th minute from Seamus Hickey after good build-up play with Luke Murphy playing him in following a stray MTU pass in their half-forward line.

The students rallied with 0-3 only for their opponents to end the half with a similar surge, points from two Donncha frees and a punched effort from Gerry O’Sullivan for an eight-point advantage at the break.

MTU received a timely boost 10 minutes on the resumption, when a high ball into the danger zone ended with Danny Lenihan poking the ball home to cut Duhallow’s lead to 1-12 to 1-7.

But, the north-west representatives didn’t panic and cancelled it out with three points on the spin to snuff out any threat of a student revival.

And Duhallow ensured their participation in Sunday’s decider with a second goal four minutes from the end, when debutant Mikey McAuliffe pounced.

Scorers for Duhallow: D O’Connor 0-7, 5f, M McAuliffe 1-4, G O’Sullivan 0-4, S Hickey 1-1, L Murphy and J Curtin 0-1 each.

Scorers for MTU: D Lenihan 1-0, S Walsh and C O’Donoghue 0-2 each, David O’Connor 0-2, 1f, 1 ‘mark’, A O’Shea, N Donohue and D O’Leary 0-1 each.

DUHALLOW: K Holland (Kanturk); S Curtin (Rockchapel), J McLoughlin (Kanturk), D Buckley (Boherbue); S Hickey (Millstreet), K Cremin (Boherbue), D Cashman (Millstreet); P Walsh (Kanturk), S Hickey (Rockchapel); C O’Callaghan (Dromtarriffe), D O’Connor (Ballydesmond), G O’Sullivan (Boherbue); L Murphy (Cullen), J Curtin (Rockchapel), M McAuliffe (do).

Subs: C Murphy (Castlemagnier) for Cashman, E Murphy (Dromtarriffe) for Curtin, T O’Riordan (Castlemagnier) for O’Connor, 56, J Kelleher (Dromtarriffe) for Cremin 58, B Murphy (Dromtarriffe) for O’Callaghan 59.

MTU: L Hanna (Mitchelstown); A McAuliffe (An Ghaeltacht), N Donohue (Firies), P Ring (Aghabullogue), captain; C O’Shea (Kilshannig) T Walsh (Kanturk), D Lenihan (Castlemagner); C Donovan (Macroom), C Kennedy (Clonmel Commercials); C O’Donoghue (Glenflesk), J Dolan (Churchill), S Walsh (The Nire), D O’Connor (Castletownroche), D O’Connor (Boherbue), R O’Donovan (Barryroe).

Subs: N O’Riordan (Buttevant) for McAuliffe and A O’Shea (Listry) for Dolan, D O’Leary (Naomh Aban) for Dylan O’Connor, half-time, D Collins (Glengarriffe) for O’Donovan 52, B Scannell (St Patrick’s) for Walsh 59.

Referee: C Walsh (Nemo Rangers).

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Echo 130Echo 130


Read all about the monthly winner’s and more.
Click Here


Podcast: 1000 Cork songs 
Singer/songwriter Jimmy Crowley talks to John Dolan

Listen Here

Add Echolive.ie to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more