Douglas rugby tyro Jack O'Sullivan set for Champions Cup debut with Munster

Douglas rugby tyro Jack O'Sullivan set for Champions Cup debut with Munster
Munster's Jack O’Sullivan is tackled by Conor O’Brien of Leinster. Picture: INPHO/Bryan Keane

CORK’S Jack O’Sullivan is in line to make his Champions Cup debut on Sunday at Thomond Park, 1pm after the young back-row was named on the bench for Munster.

The back-rower has impressed the management team in his outings so far and at training over the last number of weeks.

The Douglas native has been named on a bench alongside fellow Greencore Academy player Ben Healy who is also in line to make his Champions Cup debut.

Unfortunately, Cork’s Shane Daly suffered a thumb injury in training. With Keith Earls ruled out with a minor knee injury, Daly would have come in but his place instead goes to Calvin Nash who makes his Champions Cup debut.

Peter O’Mahony captains the side with two changes to the team that faced Racing 92 in Paris last weekend.

Nash comes in on the wing while Fineen Wycherley makes his first Champions Cup start as he returns from injury.

Dave Kilcoyne starts on his landmark 50th Champions Cup appearance which seems while Leesider Billy Holland will play his 225th Munster game and moves up to fourth on the all-time list of appearances for the province ahead of Marcus Horan.

Mike Haley starts at full-back with Andrew Conway and Nash on either side of him.

Johann van Graan starts the same half-back combination with Conor Murray and JJ Hanrahan in the hot seats inside a centre-partnership of Rory Scannell and Chris Farrell.

Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell and Stephen Archer again make up the starting front row with Wycherley and Holland behind them in the scrum.

O’Mahony, Jack O’Donoghue and CJ Stander complete the side.

MUNSTER: Mike Haley; Andrew Conway, Chris Farrell, Rory Scannell, Calvin Nash; JJ Hanrahan, Conor Murray; Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, Stephen Archer; Fineen Wycherley, Billy Holland; Peter O’Mahony (C), Jack O’Donoghue, CJ Stander.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Jeremy Loughman, John Ryan, Arno Botha, Jack O’Sullivan, Craig Casey, Ben Healy, Dan Goggin.

More in this section

Sponsored Content