Cork hurler Sean O'Donoghue will fly the Rebel flag in online tournament

Cork hurler Sean O'Donoghue will fly the Rebel flag in online tournament
Cork's Sean O'Donoghue with Peter Duggan of Clare in the 2018 Munster final. Picture: INPHO/Morgan Treacy

CORK hurler Seán O'Donoghue will fly the Rebel flag in the All-Ireland FIFA20 Charity Online Tournament this weekend.

The Inniscarra club man is the Leeside representative in the esports event to help support frontline workers combatting the spread of Covid-19.

A former Cork U21 football captain, we'll have to wait to find out if he's as good at the popular soccer computer game as he is on the GAA fields. He already beat off the rest of the Rebels to represent his county.

In his favour is the fact he's been assigned Lionel Messi and Barcelona for the matches, which will be live on Facebook from Friday at 7pm.

The final will take place on Sunday and among the high-profile players in the 32-county competition are Galway's Pádraic Mannion, Tyrone's Niall Morgan and Kilkenny's Paddy Deegan. 

Kerry’s Padraig Boyle and James O’Donoghue have to play off to decide who enters from Kerry, though their online team will be Swiss underdogs Young Boys.

The full list of players and teams is:

Antrim - Patrick McBride (Roma) Armagh - Aidan Nugent (AEK Athens) Carlow - Adam Dunne (Liverpool) Cavan - Oisin Brady (Inter Milan) Clare - Keelan Sexton (PSG) Cork - Sean O'Donoghue (Barcelona) Derry - Ruairi Mooney (Juventus) Donegal - Oisin Gallen (Schalke 04) Down - Mark Fisher (Valencia) Dublin - James Madden (CSKA Moscow) Fermanagh - Jimmy Tormey (Shakhtar Donetsk) Galway - Padraic Mannion (Atletico Madrid) Kerry - Padraig Boyle or James O’Donoghue (Young Boys) Kildare - Kevin Flynn (Napoli) Kilkenny - Paddy Deegan (Ajax) Laois - Eric Kileen (Manchester City) Leitrim - Oisin McLoughlin (Hobro IK) Limerick - Cian Shorten (Benfica) Longford - Daniel Connell (Hoffenheim) Louth - Gavin Kerrigan (Bayern Munich) Mayo - Matthew Ruane (Club Brugge) Meath - Jordan Morris (AS Monaco) Monaghan - Conor McCarthy (Galatasaray) Offaly - Cian Johnson (Lyon) Roscommon - Donie Smith (PSV) Sligo - Niall Feehily (Real Madrid) Tipperary - Kyle Shelly (Lokomotiv Moscow) Tyrone - Niall Morgan (Chelsea) Waterford - Aaron Jones (FC Porto) Westmeath - Joe Rabbitt (Tottenham Hotspur) Wexford - Rory O'Connor (Dortmund) Wicklow - Andy Maher (Victoria Pizen)

More in this section

Sponsored Content