The go-ahead has been given for what might be Cork's most unique coffee shops.
Planning permission has been granted for a new coffee dock alongside the old railway line that ran through the centre of Cork city up along Brian Boru Street.
A small triangular store building at Clyde House on the street is to be converted into a shop, coffee shop and take away with a hatch window facing onto the street.
The building's size, shape and location would make it one of the city's most unique coffee shops.
Brian Boru Street and the Coliseum are located to the west of the building while a curved laneway, where the railway used to run, is located to the east.
The railway line connected Kent Station to the west Cork rail line at Albert Quay and operated for 64 years.
Twin bridges, Brian Boru Bridge and Clontarf Bridge, were built and opened in 1912 to allow for the railway line and other traffic.
Because cargo ships still docked further up the river the bridges were Scherzer Rolling Lift Bascule bridges, allowing them to be raised to allow ships pass up and downstream.
The last train used the railway line in 1976 and four years later the bridges were modified as fixed-bridge structures.
Once opened, the new coffee dock will be located in an increasingly busy part of the city.
The new railway station on the southern side of Kent Station was opened specifically to improve access for rail passengers to the city centre.
The new Mary Elmes bridge is set to open to the public in the coming weeks, also with the aim of improving pedestrian and cycle connectivity over the north channel of the River Lee.
Construction is also underway on two major office developments Horgan Quay and Penrose Quay that will add a significant number of workers to the area once complete and occupied.
A planning decision is also awaited on a microbrewery in the nearby Thompson House on MacCurtain Street.