Cork v Galway: Ben Walsh and Jayden Casey in for minor hurling semi-final

Two changes from Munster final for Kieran Murphy's side
Cork v Galway: Ben Walsh and Jayden Casey in for minor hurling semi-final

Cork's Ben Walsh tries to clear despite the attentions of Adam Regan of Waterford during the Electric Ireland Munster MHC game at Páirc Uí Chaoimh in March. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

Ben Walsh returns at centre-back with Jayden Casey at midfield as Cork made two changes for Saturday’s Electric Ireland All-Ireland MHC semi-final against Galway at FBD Semple Stadium in Thurles (3pm).

Killeagh clubman Walsh was forced off late on in Cork’s final round-robin game, the win over Limerick, and while he was named to start for last week’s Munster final defeat to Clare, he was only able to feature as a late substitute.

However, he has been passed fit and takes the number 6 jersey for Kieran Murphy's team as David O’Leary moves from centre-back to corner-back and his fellow dual player Oier O’Callaghan drops to the bench.

Walsh has captained the team in the absence of Casey - the pair are the only survivors from last year - during the campaign. The Youghal man, injured earlier in the year, also comes into the side, named at midfield alongside James O’Leary as Conor McCarthy of Glen Rovers misses out.

Due to the colour-clash, Cork will wear their white alternative jerseys.

If Cork were to topple the Leinster champions, the All-Ireland final against Clare or Kilkenny – who meet in Thurles at 1pm – would take place at the same venue on Sunday, June 4 on the same bill as the All-Ireland U20HC final between Cork and Offaly.

CORK (MHC v Galway): 

Fionn Murphy (Killeagh); 

David O’Leary (Ballincollig), Darragh McCarthy (Passage), Cárthaigh Cronin (Midleton); 

Cillian O’Callaghan (Dungourney), Ben Walsh (Killeagh), Johnny Galvin (Éire Óg); 

James O’Leary (Lisgoold), Jayden Casey (Youghal); 

Johnny Murphy (Dromina), Zack Biggane (Charleville), Barry Walsh (Killeagh); 

Ronan Dooley (Douglas), Barry O’Flynn (Sarsfields), Finn O’Brien (Erin’s Own).

Subs: Oisín Walsh (Youghal), Seán O’Callaghan (Aghada), Oier O’Callaghan (Liscarroll/Churchtown Gaels), Jake Brosnan (Glen Rovers), Conor McCarthy (Glen Rovers), James O’Brien (Cloyne), Seán Meade (Killeagh), Brian Lynch (Youghal), Patrick Walsh (Carrigtwohill).

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Echo 130Echo 130

Have you downloaded your FREE ie logo  App?

People holding phone with App

It's all about Cork!

Have you downloaded your FREE ie logo  App?

It's all about Cork!

App Store LogoGoogle Play Logo
The Echo - Women in Sport Awards - Logo



Podcast: 1000 Cork songs 
Singer/songwriter Jimmy Crowley talks to John Dolan

Listen Here

Contact Us Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Terms and Conditions

© Evening Echo Ltd, Linn Dubh, Assumption Road, Blackpool, Cork. Registered in Ireland: 523713

Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more