First four clubs are through in the Cork GAA Jersey Wars competition

The Barrs, Youghal, UCC and Valleys all progress to the last 16
First four clubs are through in the Cork GAA Jersey Wars competition

UCC'S Paul Hanley tackles St Finbarr's Cathal McCarthy during the Cork SFC in 2004. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

THE first four rounds are complete in our competition to decide the most popular GAA geansaí in Rebel county.

Youghal, Valley Rovers, UCC and St Finbarr's are all through to the last 16.

From here until the end of August, your votes will decide the best design in our Cork GAA Jersey Wars competition. 

Our resident jersey expert Denis Hurley compiled a list of 32 clubs, based on those involved in the senior tiers and a selection of wild cards. We put them in alphabetical order and paired them up, number one versus 32.

Kevin Canty, Valley Rovers, races through midfield against Ballincollig. Picture: Larry Cummins
Kevin Canty, Valley Rovers, races through midfield against Ballincollig. Picture: Larry Cummins

Youghal pipped Bandon by just a single vote and Valleys edging the Collig by just three entries. The College were more comprehensive winners over the Town, while the Barrs and the Rockies was a heavyweight clash that drew a huge number of votes. 

Ultimately, the Blues had the upper hand. 

The polling each day runs for 24 hours on our website EchoLive.ie, and there will be a one-day break in between each section.

Earlier this year, the public helped us pick The Echo Rebel Legends winner from Leeside's modern sporting stars with former Cork and Glen Rovers camogie star and Irish basketball ace Sandie Fitzgibbon upsetting the top guns like Roy Keane, Denis Irwin, Sonia O'Sullivan and JBM.

TOP HALF OF THE DRAW 

Tuesday, July 20: 1. Bandon v 32. Youghal;

Wednesday, July 21: 2. Ballincollig v 31. Valley Rovers;

Thursday, July 22: 3. Bishopstown v 30. UCC;

Friday, July 23: 4. Blackrock v 29. St Finbarr's;

Saturday, July 24: 5. Bride Rovers v 28. Sarsfields;

Monday, July 26: 6. Carbery Rangers v 27. Newtownshandrum;

Tuesday, July 27: 7. Carrigaline v 26. Newcestown;

Wednesday, July 28: 8. Carrigtwohill v 25. Nemo Rangers;

BOTTOM HALF OF THE DRAW 

Thursday, July 29: 9. Castlehaven v 24. Na Piarsaigh;

Friday, July 30: 10. Charleville v 23. MTU Cork;

Saturday, July 31: 11. Cill na Martra v 22. Midleton;

Monday, August 2: 12. Clonakilty v 21. Mallow;

Tuesday, August 3: 13. Douglas v 20. Kiskeam;

Wednesday, August 4: 14. Éire Óg v 19. Kanturk;

Thursday, August 5: 15. Erin's Own v 18. Ilen Rovers;

Friday, August 6: 16. Fermoy v 17. Glen Rovers.

LAST 16:

Monday, August 9: Youghal v Valleys (A);

Tuesday, August 10: UCC v Barrs (B);

Wednesday, August 11: Bride/Sars v Carbery Rangers/Newtown (C);

Thursday, August 12: Carrigaline/Newcestown v Carrigtwohill/Nemo (D);

Friday, August 13: Castlehaven/Piarsaigh v Charleville/MTU (E);

Saturday, August 14: Cill na Martra/Midleton v Clon/Mallow (F);

Monday, August 16: Douglas/Kiskeam v Éire Óg/Kanturk (G);

Tuesday, August 17: Erin's Own/Ilen v Fermoy/Glen (H).

QUARTER-FINALS:

Thursday, August 19: A v B;

Friday, August 20: C v D;

Saturday, August 21: E v F;

Monday, August 23: G v H.

SEMI-FINALS:

Wednesday, August 25: A/B v C/D;

Thursday, August 26: E/F v G/H.

FINAL:

Saturday, August 28.

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Add Echolive.ie to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more