Holland fires Douglas to City Division U21 football glory 

Holland fires Douglas to City Division U21 football glory 
The Douglas U21s and their mentors after capturing the Seandún title in Ballinlough. Picture: Tony Noonan.

Douglas 1-15 St Finbarr’s 0-5

DOUGLAS were crowned Seandún U21 A champions for the first time in their history following a comfortable win over St Finbarr’s at Ballinlough yesterday.

In a game where the Barrs never found their true rhythm, a better-balanced Douglas outfit were head and shoulders over them, though both clubs now progress to the county section. 

James Holland had a great game leading the attack, finishing with 1-9 in total, while Cork minor panellist Alan O'Hare came off the bench and nabbed two points.

Brian Turnbull, better known for his underage hurling exploits with Cork, lined out at wing-forward and chipped in with a score as well.

In the early exchanges, the Barrs were careless with their shooting as they amassed four wides with Douglas taking the lead courtesy of a Niall Hartnett point.

Douglas wasted a lot of possession by overplaying the ball and the Barrs finally tied the game in the 12th minute following a Dara O’Sullivan point.

Points from Brian Lynch and James Holland had Douglas ahead by the 13th minute but credit to the Barrs, they responded to level. However, they were outplayed before the break and Douglas could afford to have a goal disallowed for an off the ball incident that resulted in Conor Russell getting a black card.

Despite losing powerful forward Russell, Douglas were now showing their class and three points in a row gave them a 0-8 to 0-3 half-time advantage.

The Barrs got the perfect start to the second half with a stunning Brian Hayes effort before Douglas responded with another Holland white flag.

The Barrs could have punished Douglas in the 35th minute but a superb Bill O’Connell solo run ended with a shot which was parried by the Douglas keeper David O’Keeffe.

Scorers for Douglas: J Holland 1-9, A O’Hare 0-2, B Turnbull, A O’Connell, D Kelly, B Lynch 0-1 each.

St Finbarr’s: D O’Sullivan 0-2 (0-1 f), J O’Brien, B Hayes, C Barrett 0-1 each.

DOUGLAS: D O’Keeffe; J Cremin, N Walsh, R O’Mahony; D Fenton, B Powter, D Kelly; B Hartnett, N Hartnett; B Turnbull, C Baldwin, B Lynch; J Holland, C Russell, A O’Connell.

Subs: A O’Hare for C Russell (bc 29), M McAuliffe for D Kelly (56), R Sheehan for B Turnbull (59), L O’Sullivan for B Lynch (59).

ST FINBARR’S: D Moran; M Ahern, E O’Regan, C O’Sullivan; B O’Connell, A McCarthy, C McCarthy; B Hayes, A Turner; J O’Brien, C O’Sullivan, D Callanan; D O’Sullivan, L Hannigan, S Cunningham.

Subs: C Barrett for D Callan (h-t), C Crowley for A Turner (42), J Lenihan for S Cunningham (44), J Ryan for E O’Regan (55), C Shannon for C O’Sullivan (57).

Referee: Brian Coniry (Crosshaven).

More in this section

Sponsored Content