Blake Murphy in at centre-forward for Cork U20s against Tyrone

Blake Murphy in at centre-forward for Cork U20s against Tyrone

Blake Murphy of Cork hits the net against Kerry in the the EirGrid Munster GAA Football U20 Championship final at Páirc Ui Rinn. Picture: Matt Browne/Sportsfile.

CORK have named Blake Murphy from St Vincent's at centre-forward in their team to face Tyrone in the All-Ireland U20 football semi-final in Tullamore on Sunday at 4pm.

He is rewarded for scoring 1-1, when introduced from the bench in place of Mark Hodnett (Carbery Rangers) during the 13-point win over Kerry in the Munster final.

Kiskeam's Sean Meehan has got the nod to slot in at centre-back with Shane Hickey (Millstreet) also in the frame.

But, there's no place for Eanna O'Hanlon (Kilshannig), who missed the Kerry game due to an ankle injury sustained in the Munster semi-final win over Waterford and is still sidelined.

It means a second start for Kanturk's Daniel O'Connell, who partners Brian Hartnett (Douglas) at midfield.

Cork claimed their 27th Munster title to move one in front of Kerry though the age group dropped from U21 last year.

Keith Ricken's charges are aiming to reach a third All-Ireland final in seven years, having contested deciders in 2016, when losing to Mayo, and 2013, when Galway triumphed.

Cork head the All-Ireland roll-of-honour with 11, the last coming in 2009 with victory over Down.

Tyrone are expected to be unchanged from dethroning Derry convincingly in the Ulster final, according to manager Dermot Carlin.

“We'll be attempting to replicate that performance and see if we're capable of putting back-to-back displays together.

“It's not a surprise that we're playing Cork, who were clearly up for it against Kerry in the Munster final and anything can happen in a local derby.

“We set out our stall at the start of the year to win Ulster and now we're in bonus country.

“The players have shown great hunger all year and we've only had to keep a lid on it really,” Carlin added.

CORK U20: J O'Keeffe (Newmarket); M O'Mahony (Knocknagree), M Shanley (Clonakilty), P Ring (Aghabullogue); G O'Donovan (Newcestown), S Meehan (Kiskeam), P O'Driscoll (Ilen Rovers), captain; B Hartnett (Douglas), D O'Connell (Kanturk); C Barrett (St Finbarr's), B Murphy (St Vincent's), C O'Callaghan (Éire Óg); M Cronin (Nemo Rangers), C O'Mahony (Mitchelstown), D Gore (Kilmacabea). 

Subs: I Giltinan (Carrigaline), J McCarthy (do), J Murphy (Éire Óg), S Hickey (Millstreet), F Herlihy (Dohenys), R Maguire (Castlehaven), B Hayes (St Finbarr's), M Hodnett (Carbery Rangers), G O'Sullivan (Boherbue).

More in this section

Sponsored Content