Waterford name Austin Gleeson in defence for Cork clash in Thurles

Waterford name Austin Gleeson in defence for Cork clash in Thurles

Austin Gleeson celebrates his goal at Croke Park against Cork in the 2017 All-Ireland semi-final win. Picture: Ray McManus/Sportsfile

WATERFORD have named Austin Gleeson at wing-back for Saturday's Munster semi-final against Cork.

The Déise take on Kieran Kingston's side at 3.30pm in Semple Stadium, live on Sky Sports, missing injured free-taker Pauric Mahony, but can call on the experience of Gleeson, Stephen O'Keeffe, Tadhg De Búrca, Jamie Barron, Kevin Moran and Stephen Bennett.

They've gone for Dessie Hutchinson at number 13 in his championship debut, the former Brighton soccer player shining for Ballgunner in recent months, while Meath native Jack Fagan is another rookie at centre-forward.

Gleeson's positioning will be a key decision for new manager Liam Cahill. The expectation is the former Hurler of the Year will be up front, despite being handed the seven geansaí for the throw-in.

Neil Montgomery, a regular for UCC in the Fitzgibbon Cup and Cork club championship, is on the bench. 

Kingston and his selectors will reveal their squad at 9.30pm on Friday. They'll be without the injured Darragh Fitzgibbon and Eoin Cadogan while Robbie O'Flynn is suspended.

It will be interesting to see if they opt for any new faces, with Sars' Jack O'Connor impressing in challenge matches and Midleton's Seán O'Leary Hayes an option on the basis of his appearances in the league. The management are also understood to have high hopes for U20 duo Daire Connery and Shane Barrett.

Colm Spillane is available again, having missed the 2019 campaign, while Tim O'Mahony is likely to feature in the middle third, perhaps at wing-back with Mark Coleman switching to midfield to partner Bill Cooper.

WATERFORD (v Cork): 

1. Stephen O’Keeffe (Ballygunner) 

2. Shane Fives (Tourin), 3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside, c), 4. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)

5. Calum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower), 6. Tadhg De Búrca (Clashmore-Kinsalebeg), 7. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion) 

8. Jamie Barron (Fouremilewater), 9. Jake Dillon (De La Salle) 

10. Kevin Moran (De La Salle), 11. Jack Fagan (De La Salle), 12. Kieran Bennett (Ballysaggart) 

13. Dessie Hutchinson (Ballygunner), 14. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart), 15. Jack Prendergast (De La Salle) 

Subs: 16. Billy Nolan (Roanmore), 17. Ian Kenny (Ballygunner), 18. Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank), 19. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper), 20. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan), 21. Billy Power (Clonea), 22. Ciaran Kirwan (Kill), 23. Darragh Lyons (Dungarvan), 24. Neil Montgomery (Abbeyside), 25. Shane Ryan (Fourmilewater), 26. Kieran Power (Dungarvan)

More in this section

Sponsored Content