Historic Munster title for the Mitchelstown CBS hurlers

Historic Munster title for the Mitchelstown CBS hurlers
Mitchelstown CBS celebrate. Picture: John D Kelly

Mitchelstown CBS 2-14

Cashel Community School 0-19

MITCHELSTOWN CBS created history on Saturday when they won their first Munster Senior B Hurling Championship title.

These competitions were founded in 1918 and 100 years later CBS landed their first title in this grade.

Picture: John D Kelly
Picture: John D Kelly

The game in Clonmel was tight and close all through with CBS leading for long periods. The winners opened with a first-minute goal when ‘man of the match’ Mark Keane placed James Keating who netted.

Cashel got on the scoresheet soon after when Rian Quigley forced a 65 that Eoghan Connolly converted.

A foul on Rian Quigley saw Colm Moloney with a free cut the lead to a point. Darragh Flynn edged CBS two clear with a sixth-minute point.

The Mitchelstown side won possession in the air with Mark Keane being fouled and James Keating pointed the free 1-2 to 0-2 clear.

James Keating and Colm Moloney exchanged a pointed free with Moloney with another free closing the gap.

Good play for CBS by Cathal O’Mahony to Tomas Vaughan could have led to a CBS goal but Aaron Browne saved well.

James Keating (free) put the winners 1-4 to 0-2 clear after 15 minutes. Cashel battled back well they moved impressive Ross Bonnar to the wing.

A long range free by Eoghan Connolly was sent over by Bonnar before Connolly with another free had the Tipp side back in the hunt.

Mark Keane made a vital interception from Rian Quigley who was goal bound. In the 20th minute, Tomas Vaughan was fouled and James Keating pointed the free. Keating restored CBS’s lead with a pointed 65 — 1-6 to 0- 6.

CBS moved John Hunter to mark Ross Bonnar which made a major impact. Colm Moloney pointed another free. In the 28th minute, Cathal O’Mahony worked well for James Keating who sent over.

In injury time Mark Keane won a vital high ball and placed James Keating who pointed and gave the winners an interval lead 1-8 to 0- 7.

Cashel made two changes for the second half and they battled back very well.

By the 37th minute, they were back within a point. James Keating pointed a sideline cut with Mark Keane putting Darragh Flynn in for a point 1-10 to 0-10.

Cashel enjoyed a very good spell and four points on the trot had them ahead for the first time in the 47th minute.

The turning point came a minute later when Christy O’Sullivan’s effort from the wing deceived the keeper and found its way to the net.

Cathal Harrington followed with a point and CBS were 2-11 to 0-14 ahead. By the 56th minute, both sides exchanged two points 2-13 to 0-16.

Three points on the trot for Cashel by Eoghan Connolly Ross Bonnar and James Kirby had them level 2-13 to 0-19 by the 59th minute.

CBS won a vital free when Mark Keane was fouled and James Keating pointed. Cashel were wide from a long range free in injury time followed by the final whistle.

Scorers for Mitchelstown CBS: J Keating 1-11 (0-6 f, 0-2 65, 0-1 sl), C O’Sullivan 1-0, D Flynn 0-2, C Harrington 0-1.

MITCHELSTOWN CBS: J Finn (Ballygiblin); K Noonan (Kildorrery), M Walsh-O’Grady (do), J Lewis (Ballygiblin); T Watson (Kildorrery), M Keane (Ballygiblin), J Hunter (Kildorrery); L Finn (Ballygiblin), O Brennan (Skeheenarinky); C Harrington (Kildorrery) (v-c), C O’Mahony (Ballygiblin) (c), C O’Sullivan (do); D Flynn (do), J Keating (Kildorrery), T Vaughan (Skeheenarinky).

Subs: R Hennessy (Skeheenarinky) for C O’Mahony (blood) C O’Mahony for R Hennessy, R Hennessy for K Noonan.

More in this section

Sponsored Content