Hurling game of the year contender sees Rockies through to league decider after double extra-time against the Barrs

Hurling game of the year contender sees Rockies through to league decider after double extra-time against the Barrs
Blackrock's Michael O'Halloran hit 12 points against the Barrs. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

Blackrock 2-30 St Finbarr’s 1-31

(after double extra time)

BLACKROCK have booked their place in the decider of Division 1 of the Red FM County Senior Hurling League as they defeated St Finbarr’s after two periods of extra time in the first semi-final at Páirc Uí Rinn.

They'll face Sars, chasing three in a row, this Sunday in the decider.

This game went down to the wire with the scoreline reading 2-28 to 0-31 in Blackrock’s favour entering the final period of extra time as Scott Callanan levelled matters with a goal for the Togher side in the 85th minute.

Eoin O’Farrell put Blackrock back in the driving seat with a pointed free and this was followed by a pointed 65 by Tadhg Deasy.

Wayward puck-outs in the opening half were proving to be costly for Blackrock and they were restricted to three points from play in this period, with six points coming from placed balls.

Persistent fouling by Blackrock in the second half resulted in St Finbarr’s top scorer Eoghan Finn converting four frees.

Cian Cormack scored the game’s opening point within seconds of the throw-in before the Togher side slotted over four unanswered points from play.

Michael O’Halloran pointed a 65 for Blackrock and the second quarter was more evenly contested as the sides were tied at nine points apiece at the break.

Blackrock upped the ante after the interval as Tadhg Deasy scored their first goal from the corner of the St Finbarr’s square in the 35th minute. Alan Connolly scored Blackrock’s second goal in the 52nd minute to open up a six-point lead.

The Togher side outscored Blackrock by six points to three with Finn pointing a last-gasp equalising free deep in stoppage time to tie the scores at 2-16 to 0-22 and force extra time.

Scorers for Blackrock: M O’Halloran 0-12 (0-1 f, 0-2 65), J Ryan 0-6 (0-1 sl, 0-1 f), T Deasy 1-2 (0-1 sl, 0-1 65), A Connolly 1-2 (0-1 65), S O’Keeffe 0-3, C Cormack, R Laide 0-2 each, E O’Farrell 0-1 f.

St Finbarr’s: E Finn 0-15 (0-10 f, 0-3 65), D Cahalane 0-4, C Keane 0-3, S Callanan 1-0, E Keane, B O’Connell 0-2 each, R O’Mahony, C Cahalane, P Kelleher, B Hennessy, L Hannigan 0-1 each.

BLACKROCK: D O’Shea; J Cashman, G Norberg, J Ryan; A Murphy, A O’Callaghan, N Cashman; D Meaney, D O’Farrell; S O’Keefe, J O’Sullivan, M O’Halloran; A Connolly, C Cormack, T Deasy.

Subs: R Laide for D O’Farrell (h-t), E O’Farrell for O’Sullivan (52); D Cormack for Meaney (70); M O’Keeffe for O’Halloran (79); O’Sullivan for C Cormack (85).

ST FINBARR’S: S Hurley; J Neville, J Burns, O Murphy; G O’Connor, E Keane, B Hennessy; C Walsh, D Cahalane; C Cahalane, C Keane, E Finn; K Hodgins, R O’Mahony, B O’Connell.

Subs: P Kelleher for Hodgins (13, inj), C O’Brien for Neville (43), L Hannigan for O’Mahony (60), S Callanan for Hennessy (74).

Referee: C Lyons (Nemo Rangers).

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more