Late Urhan goals dethrone champs Garnish in Beara final

Late Urhan goals dethrone champs Garnish in Beara final
Picture: Anne Marie Cronin Photography

Urhan 2-10 Garnish 1-9 

URHAN captured the Beara Junior A football championship title for the first time since 2015 following this entertaining divisional final decider played in Adrigole last Sunday afternoon.

Urhan finished strongly as they struck 1-1 in the closing stages to eke out a deserved win. Lively corner-forward Jamie O’Neill and super-sub Conor Lowney netted in the final minutes to propel Urhan to championship final glory, after Garnish dramatically drew level in the 57th minute.

Urhan started brightly with Jamie O’Neill and Concubhur Harrington notching scores to move them two points ahead. Garnish quickly moved one point clear after 13 minutes following successive points from the brothers Brian Terry (2) and Sean Terry O’Sullivan. Urhan star Martin McCarthy restored parity after the end of the opening quarter.

Urhan concluded the opening half one point ahead with Concubhur Harrington in particular impressing as they led 0-6 to 0-5 ahead.

The reigning champions Garnish started the second half strongly as they struck three consecutive points to move one point clear after 41 minutes. 

The defining moment of the game occurred in the 43rd minute when Urhan center-forward Martin McCarthy netted after good play from David McCarthy which moved his team two points clear. Urhan extended their lead to three points after 55 minutes when Conor Lowney struck a sublime point.

The pace of the game was electric with both teams fighting gallantly for divisional honours. Garnish who were bidding for their fourth successive championship title drew level after Fintan O’Sullivan netted with a clinical strike.

Urhan, however, finished the stronger side as late scores from Jamie O’Neill and a fisted goal from Conor Lowney secured victory.

There were euphoric scenes when Urhan captain Aidan O’Neill was presented with the Cormac O’Sullivan Cup.

Scorers for Urhan: M McCarthy 1-3, J O’Neill 0-4 (0-2 f), C Lowney 1-1, C Harrington 0-2.

Garnish: F O’Sullivan 1-2, B Terry O’Sullivan 0-3, S T O’Sullivan 0-3 (0-2 f), J O’Dwyer 0-1.

URHAN: G Dunne; D Elphick, A O’Neill, M Shea; D McCarthy, D O’Neill, B Healy; C O’Sullivan, C O’Sullivan; L O’Sullivan, J O’Neill, C O’Shea; C Harrington, M McCarthy, F Dwyer.

Subs: C Lowney for C Harrington (35), D Dwyer for L O’Sullivan (50), C Harrington for C O’Shea (59).

GARNISH: R Murphy; D O’Sullivan, E Murphy, B Walsh; M O’Leary, H O’Sullivan, D Henshaw; J O’Dwyer, BT O’Sullivan; G O’Sullivan, ST O’Sullivan, F O’Sullivan; S Henshaw, C O’Neill, Dara Henshaw.

Subs: O O’Sullivan for S Henshaw (30), P Murphy for G O’Sullivan (37), J O’Driscoll for M O’Leary (45), P O’Neill for C O’Neill (59).

Referee: Alan Long (Argideen Rangers).

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Echo 130Echo 130


Read all about the monthly winner’s and more.
Click Here


Podcast: 1000 Cork songs 
Singer/songwriter Jimmy Crowley talks to John Dolan

Listen Here

Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more