Bradley and Tarrant lead the way as Aghabullogue defeat rivals Cloughduv

Bradley and Tarrant lead the way as Aghabullogue defeat rivals Cloughduv
Matthew Bradley, Aghabullogue, in football action against Kevin O'Neill, Grenagh. The former Cork minor hurler hit 0-6 to beat Cloughduv. Picture: Jim Coughlan.

Aghabullogue 2-20 Cloughduv 2-9 

THIS all-Muskerry group stage affair in the Co-Op Superstores Cork Intermediate A Hurling Championship went the way of Aghabullogue.

This was a cracking affair with both teams contributing to an enthralling contest.

It was Aghabullogue who opened the scoring through some crisp early scores by Matthew Bradley.

But Cloughduv responded in the right manner as Brian Verling blasted the ball home impressively from a Tony Dineen pass.

Tarrant put Aghabullogue back in front before Cloughduv got a second goal when Mark Walsh broke free and fired the ball clinically to the back of the net, to leave it at 2-0 to Aghabullogue’s 0-5 after just 10 minutes.

Walsh was to score a Cloughduv point moments later. However, it was Aghabullogue that were to burst into life for the remainder of the opening half.

Paudie Twomey found the back of the net after racing in well, before Dano Dineen and the on fire Bradley also slotted over scores for the Coachford club.

Cloughduv added to their tally through points from Aidan Murphy and Brian Verling. But Aghabullogue ended the opening 30 minutes of play with another Dineen score, as they led 1-11 to the 2-3 of Cloughduv at half time.

Bradley got another cracking Aghabullogue score early in the second half before a brace of Walsh points and a Verling free for Cloughduv reduced the gap down to two points.

But when the chips were down and the game reached its latter stage, Aghabullogue had the greater stomach for the fight.

Tarrant maintained his composure and slotted over a succession of frees and a point from play. While Dano Dineen also slotted over a cool effort, as Cloughduv ended with fourteen men after a second yellow, before Aghabullogue netted through a finely taken Luke Casey goal.

The second teams of Glen Rovers and Midleton complete this particular group. Aghabullogue will prove to be stern opposition if this display is anything to go by.

Scorers for Aghabullogue: S Tarrant 0-10 (0-6 f), M Bradley 0-6 (0-1 f), D Dineen 0-3, L Casey 1-0, I Barry-Murphy 0-1.

Cloughduv: M Walsh 1-4, B Verling(2f) 1-3, A Murphy 0-2.

AGHABULLOGUE: F Foley; C Feury, A Barry-Murphy, J Corkery; M Dennehy, N Barry-Murphy, S O’Connell; D Dineen, S Feury; B Casey, M Bradley, S Tarrant; J Buckley, P Twomey, I Barry-Murphy.

Subs: D Quinlan for Dennehy (15, inj), L Casey for B Casey (45).

CLOUGHDUV: J Buckley; J Moynihan, B Ahern, P Buckley; D O’Leary, M Verling, T Dineen; M Walsh, L Kelleher; A Twomey, E Clifford, A Murphy; D Corkery, S O’Connor, B Verling.

Subs: W Ahern for Corkery (h-t), K Walsh for Twomey (48), M Dunne for O’Leary (55).

Referee: Alan O’Connor (Ballygarvan)

More in this section

Sponsored Content