Millstreet footballers dig out a result against Ballinora in tough conditions

Millstreet footballers dig out a result against Ballinora in tough conditions
Cork’s Darragh Cashman with Evan Nolan of Galway in last year's minor All-Ireland. He scored 0-2 for Millstreet against Ballinora. Picture: INPHO/Tommy Dickson

Millstreet 0-8 

Ballinora 0-5
AFTER a hard-fought contest, Millstreet came out on top against Ballinora in this Bon Secours Cork Intermediate A Football Championship at Macroom.

Following on from their opening day victory over St Finbarr’s second team, it means the knockout stages of this competition now await for the Duhallow club. Ballinora will have to win their final group stage outing to keep their hopes of championship glory alive.

In what was a tight opening to proceedings, early scores were proving to be at a premium for both teams.

Ballinora got the opening point of the game through a Darragh Corkery point. That was to be followed by a score from a free by Neil Lordan.

Millstreet got their first score of proceedings with 13 minutes played on the clock. Cork Minor All-Ireland winner Darragh Cashman went on a good run, before slotting over the bar with a fine curling effort.

The Mid Cork side responded through an effort by Luke O’Donovan. But Millstreet ended the half well. A long range free from Shane Hickey, followed by a well taken score by Colm O'Leary edged their side into the lead.

At the end of a low scoring opening thirty minutes of play, it was Millstreet who just about were edging proceedings at 0-4 to the 0-3 of Ballinora.

When the action got back underway, Neil Flahive slotted over the bar for Millstreet. That was before Ballinora levelled through a Lordan pointed effort, along with a fine long-range free from Ben Ahern.

Millstreet though finished on a positive note and got all of the remaining scores in this game.

O’Leary got a point from play after some good link-up teamwork in the build-up, while Padraig Moynihan and Cashman were to contribute with late Millstreet scores.

Next up in this particular group for Millstreet is a clash against Glenville, while Ballinora will face off against the second string of St Finbarr’s.

Scorers for Millstreet: S Hickey 0-2 f, D Cashman, C O’Leary 0-2 each, P Moynihan, N Flahive 0-1 each.

Ballinora: N Lordan 0-2 f, B Ahern (f), L O’Donovan, D Corkery 0-1 each.

MILLSTREET: M O’Donovan; D Buckley, A Murphy, R Murphy; M Murphy, B O’Flynn, D Cashman; S Hickey, M Ellis; C O’Leary, P Moynihan, J Lenihan; J Broxton, N Flahive, D Kiely.

Sub: D Buckley for Broxton (38).

BALLINORA: J Conway; K O’Regan, T Forde, J O’Regan; G Forde, J Keohane, I Wycherley; J Lordan, M Lordan; L O’Donovan, D Corkery, N Lordan; A O’Neill, D Holmes, P Fitton.

Subs: B Ahern for O’Donovan (h-t), A O’Shea for Keohane (50), C Lougheed for Corkery (58).

Referee: Eamonn Sheehy (Newcestown).

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more