Minor marvel Darragh Flynn points the way for Ballygiblin junior hurlers

Minor marvel Darragh Flynn points the way for Ballygiblin junior hurlers

Former Cork minor Darragh Flynn is Ballygiblin's main forward. Picture: Piaras Ó Mídheach/Sportsfile

Ballygiblin 2-14 Shanballymore 0-13 

BALLYGIBLIN were deserving winners over Shanballymore in the Avondhu JAHC quarter-final at Castletownroche. 

The winners started well with points by Cathail O'Mahony (2) and Joseph O'Sullivan. Shanballymore opened their account by Jamie Sheedy after five minutes. 

A mix up in the winners defence led to a good point by Brian O'Reilly. Darragh Flynn with a ninth-minute point opened up a two point lead. 

Shanbally replied with points by Jamie Sheedy (free) and Brian O'Reilly as they were level 0-4 each. In the 15th minute Colin English placed Sean O'Sullivan for a goal as the winners led 1-4 to 0-4 at the water break.

On the restart Ballygiblin dominated with Lorcan Finn, Michael Walsh, Colin English, Darragh Flynn, Joseph O'Sullivan and Cathal O'Mahony very effective. By the 27th minute they had moved 1-8 to 0-4 clear. Jamie Sheedy and Darragh Flynn swopped a point each as Ballygiblin held an interval lead 1-9 to 0-5.

On the resumption Shanballymore did well. Brian Sheedy, Sean Lynch, Darragh Palmer, Brian O'Reilly and Jamie Sheedy upped their efforts. They had points by Jamie Sheedy free and play 1-9 to 0-7.

Both sides exchanged two points as Ballygiblin led 1-11 to 0-9. Sean O'Sullivan was narrowly wide from a goal scoring chance. Flynn added a point with Darragh Palmer replying from a sideline. 

At the end of the third quarter the winners had their second goal when Flynn placed Shane Beston who opened up a lead 2-12 to 0-10. 

Shanbally battled back well. They had three quick points by Jamie Sheedy (2) and Robert McHugh. Darragh Flynn (free) secured a two goal lead 2-13 to 0-13. 

Shanballymore came very close to a late goal when Jimmy Burke was put through only to see his effort denied by a massive save by Christopher Noonan before Joseph O'Sullivan completed the scoring.

Scorers for Ballygiblin : D Flynn 0-7 (0-4 f), J O'Sullivan 0-4, S Beston 1-0, S O'Sullivan 1-0, C O'Mahony 0-2, C English 0-1, 

Shanballymore: J Sheedy 0-9 (0-6 f, 0-1 65), B O'Reilly 0-2, R McHugh 0-1, D Palmer 0-1 sl.

BALLYGIBLIN: C Noonan, B O'Gorman, F Herlihy, M Lewis, L Finn, M Walsh, J Mullins, C English, C O'Sullivan, S Doyle, D Flynn, J O'Sullivan, S O'Sullivan, S Beston, C O'Mahony. 

Subs: K Duggan for S Doyle, A Donegan for S Beston (inj).

SHANBALLYMORE: S Donegan, P Fitzgerald, E McHugh, R Hallahan, Brian Sheedy, S Lynch, M Burke, Barry Sheedy, D Palmer, J Buckley, B O'Reilly, R McHugh, A Sheedy, P Burke, J Sheedy. 

Sub: J Burke for A Sheedy.

Referee: Justin Murphy (Castletownroche).

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add Echolive.ie to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more