Joy for Glanmire after stunning holders Douglas to land minor football county 

Joy for Glanmire after stunning holders Douglas to land minor football county 

David Lynch, Glanmire captain, celebrates with his team after winning the Premier 1 football title against Douglas. Picture: Jim Coughlan.

Glanmire 0-13 Douglas 1-9

GLANMIRE are the Rebel Óg Premier 1 Minor Football champions after upsetting the odds against holders Douglas after a dramatic final at Páirc Uí Rinn on Wednesday evening.

With the scores level deep into injury time, a nerveless, long-range free from James Crowley proved to be the difference between the two sides, and a year on from lifting the Premier 2 trophy, Glanmire claimed the Premier 1 title. It was a sweet victory a group of players who lost the hurling with Sars against the Barrs two weeks ago.

Glanmire progressed to this showpiece occasion following their impressive 4-7 to 1-9 victory against Ibane Gaels in Clonakilty last week while on the same evening Douglas defeated Inniscarra 1-10 to 0-8 in their last four clash in Douglas. 

Glanmire beat Douglas on the very first night of this year’s championship and they started brightly here as they grabbed the first score of the night inside the second minute thanks to a superb solo effort from corner forward Cathal McCarthy.

And they doubled their lead moments later and it was that man McCarthy again who got it with another sweet strike with his gifted right foot.

Douglas, who were going for back to back titles, came close to notching the first goal of the game in the fifth minute but right corner-forward Conor O’Donovan’s clever punch from Alan O’Hare’s incredible cross-field pass was well saved by goalkeeper Odhran Sheppard at his bottom right corner.

O’Donovan would finally get the green, white, and blacks on the board with a punch over the bar but McCarthy would soon restore Glanmire’s two-point lead to ensure they were ahead 0-3 to 0-1 by the first water break.

After a tense opening quarter, the second quarter was much more entertaining as Douglas upped the tempo in a bid to take control of this finale.

Aaron Sheehy reduced the deficit to the minimum but Tómas Ó Sé’s men, to their credit, continued to stand tall to the challenge being put to them.

They extended their advantage to three points by the 26th minute thanks to a punch from full-forward Luke Elliott and a superbly converted free from a tight angle by James Crowley.

But that was quickly whipped out just two minutes later as Douglas raised the first green flag of the evening through Cork minor Alan O’Hare, who burst past his man, cut back onto his left foot, and coolly slotted the ball home under the keeper, 1-2 to 0-5.

These two competitive teams would remain level at the half time break as each time Glanmire edged back in front with points from captain David Lynch (free) and Cathal McCarthy, Douglas responded with scores from Alan O’Hare and Eoghan Nash (free), 1-4 to 0-7.

Douglas, who were arguably favourites to land the cup, looked like they had regrouped during the interval as they notched a couple of points at the beginning of the second period thanks to well-struck frees by left corner-forward Aaron Sheehy.

But again Glanmire showed they had character in abundance and led by McCarthy and helped by a couple of frees from James Crowley, they scored five points without reply to lead 0-12 to 1-6 by the second water break.

Douglas rallied in the final quarter though and three points without reply looked to have sent the game to extra time.

But shortly after Darragh Long squandered a glorious chance for a goal, left half-forward James Crowley swung over an incredible free in injury time to win it for Glanmire.

Picture: Jim Coughlan.
Picture: Jim Coughlan.

Scorers for Glanmire: C McCarthy 0-5, J Crowley 0-4 f, D Lynch 0-2 f, L Elliott, O Compton 0-1 each.

Douglas: A O’Hare 1-2, C O’Donovan 0-3, A Sheehy 0-3 (0-2 f), E Nash 0-1 f.

GLANMIRE: O Sheppard; E Geary, J Gibson, J O’Sullivan; D Long, O Kelleher, D Murray; D Lynch, J Kingston; B Nodwell, D Hogan, J Crowley; C McCarthy, L Elliott, O Compton.

Sub: N Marron for O Compton (52).

DOUGLAS: C O’Leary; S Geaney, C Buckley, C Donlon; D Kelly, D Burke, C Kenny; E Nash, M Howell; M Nason, A O’Hare, S Aherne; C O’Donovan, F Sheehan, A Sheehy.

Subs: K McSweeney for F Sheehan (h-t), D Squires for C Donlon (h-t), F Sheehan for M Nason (43).

Referee: Brian Coniry (Crosshaven).

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Echo 130Echo 130


Read all about the monthly winner’s and more.
Click Here


Podcast: 1000 Cork songs 
Singer/songwriter Jimmy Crowley talks to John Dolan

Listen Here

Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more