Dan Sheehan handed four-match suspension for reckless clearout of Tom Lynagh

The sanction will be reduced to three games, subject to the Ireland and Leinster player successfully completing a coaching intervention course.
Dan Sheehan handed four-match suspension for reckless clearout of Tom Lynagh

By Ed Elliot, PA

British and Irish Lions hooker Dan Sheehan has been suspended for four matches following his illegal clearout of Australia’s Tom Lynagh during Saturday’s third Test in Sydney.

The sanction will be reduced to three games, subject to the Ireland and Leinster player successfully completing a coaching intervention course.

Sheehan’s challenge in the first half of the Lions’ 22-12 loss at Accor Stadium went unpunished by Georgian referee Nika Amashukeli before he was retrospectively cited.

British and Irish Lions hooker Dan Sheehan is tackled by Australia's Max Jorgensen during the third Test in Syndey
Dan Sheehan started all three of the British and Irish Lions’ Tests in Australia (Robbie Stephenson/PA)

Replays showed the 26-year-old’s elbow appeared to make contact with his opponent’s head.

Wallabies fly-half Lynagh kicked a penalty moments after the incident but was then withdrawn for a head injury assessment (HIA) and did not return.

Sheehan will be unavailable for Leinster’s pre-season clash with Cardiff on September 13 and United Rugby Championship (URC) fixtures against South African sides the Stormers and the Sharks on September 26 and October 11 respectively.

If he serves the full four-match ban, the forward will also sit out his province’s URC clash with rivals Munster on October 18.

Australia’s Tom Lynagh, right
Australia fly-half Tom Lynagh, right, failed a head injury assessment following Dan Sheehan’s challenge. Photo: David Davies/PA.

World Rugby’s independent review committee deemed Sheehan’s actions to be reckless, that contact was made with Lynagh’s head, and ruled the action amounted to a high degree of danger without mitigation.

Sheehan, who was captaining the Lions at the time after skipper Maro Itoje failed an HIA, has accepted the sanction.

However, in his submissions, the player did not agree foul play occurred or that the offence warranted the citing.

Despite their weekend loss, Andy Farrell’s Lions celebrated a 2-1 series success over Australia following victories in Brisbane and Melbourne.

More in this section

Ezri Konsa: I couldn’t watch deadline day as financial rules have ‘killed’ Villa Ezri Konsa: I couldn’t watch deadline day as financial rules have ‘killed’ Villa
APTOPIX US Open Tennis Amanda Anisimova ends Naomi Osaka’s resurgence to book US Open final spot
Justin Devenny and Shea Charles find net as Northern Ireland win in Luxembourg Justin Devenny and Shea Charles find net as Northern Ireland win in Luxembourg

Sponsored Content

Dell Technologies Forum to empower Irish organisations harness AI innovation this September Dell Technologies Forum to empower Irish organisations harness AI innovation this September
The New Levl Fitness Studio - Now open at Douglas Court The New Levl Fitness Studio - Now open at Douglas Court
World-class fertility care is available in Cork at the Sims IVF World-class fertility care is available in Cork at the Sims IVF
Contact Us Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited

Add Echolive.ie to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more