Nemo Rangers recover from slow start to win Cork SFC

Nemo Rangers recover from slow start to win Cork SFC
EEXX sport 22/10/2017.Official opening of the re-developed Pairc Ui Chaoimh on Sunday 22nd October 2017. Nemo Rangers captain Aidan O'Reilly with the cup after their win against St Finbarrs.Pic; Larry Cummins

Nemo Rangers 4-12 St Finbarr’s 3-13

Four superbly crafted goals enabled Nemo Rangers edge St Finbarr’s in the Cork SFC replay at Páirc Uí Chaoimh today.

St Finbarr’s got off to a dream start, scoring 1-1 without reply.

Nemo’s cause wasn’t helped by an injury to Cian McWhinny that saw the corner-back stretchered off.

Yet, the Capwell club recovered from their slow start to level when Ciarán Dalton (point) and Jack Horgan (goal) got their names on the scoresheet.

The remainder of an evenly-fought half saw both sides exchange scores ahead of 10 minutes of injury time where Nemo surged 2-6 to 1-5 in front courtesy of a marvellous Luke Connolly goal.

After the break, Paul Kerrigan and Adrian Grainey found the net to seemingly confirm Nemo as champions, but a late St Finbarr’s comeback including Eoin Finn and Stephen Sherlock goals set up a grandstand finale.

Rangers hung on to deservedly claim the Andy Scannell Cup.

<b>Scorers for Nemo Rangers: </b>P Kerrigan (1-2), L Connolly (1-1), J Horgan (1-1), A Grainey (1-0), C Dalton and P Gumley (0-2 each), T Ó Sé, K Fulignati, A O’Donovan and B O’Driscoll (0-1 each).

<b>Scorers for St Finbarr’s: </b>S Sherlock (2-7, 3f), E Finn (1-0), R O’Mahony (0-2), D O’Brien, C Lyons, D Quinn and E Dennehy (0-1 each).

<b>NEMO RANGERS: </b>M A Martin; C McWhinney, A O’Reilly (captain), A Cronin; T ÓSé, S Cronin, K Fulignati; A O’Donovan, J Horgan; B O’Driscoll, P Kerrigan, C O’Brien; L Connolly, P Gumley, C Dalton.

<b>Subs: </b>K O’Donovan for C McWhinny (8, inj), J O’Donovan for K Fulignati (36), A Grainey for C O’Brien (37, inj), M Dorgan for J Horgan (54), K Fulignati for A Cronin (54), C Horgan for P Gumley (57).

<b>ST. FINBARR’S: </b>D Murphy; D Quinn, J Burns, A McCarthy; A O’Connor, S Ryan, G O’Connor; I Maguire (captain), C Lyons; D O’Brien, M Shields, E Dennehy; R Leahy, R O’Mahony, S Sherlock.

<b>Subs: </b>E Finn for D O’Brien (42), C Myers-Murray for R Leahy (46), C Keane for C Lyons (46), I O’Callaghan for R O’Mahony (52), R O’Dwyer for S Ryan (57), P Kennedy for G O’Connor (59).

<b>Referee: </b>J Bermingham (Bride Rovers).

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more