CIT are through to a Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-final with Mary I

CIT are through to a Fitzgibbon Cup quarter-final with Mary I
Cork IT's David Noonan and Stephen O'Gorman of WIT. Picture: INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

CIT 0-15

Waterford IT 0-9

CIT progressed into the quarter-final stages of the Fitzgibbon Cup following this victory over WIT last night.

In a low-scoring but generally competitive contest, the Cork college deservedly progressed.

The teams came into this game knowing a win was an absolute necessity and that they could ill-afford a slip up if they wanted to keep their hopes of remaining in the competition alive.

The place-taking efforts of Josh Beausang proved pivotal for CIT on the night, the Russell Rovers club man ending up with a total of 0-9.

In the closely-fought early stages, Jack Prendergast and Stephen Condon scored points for WIT, while Andrew Coffey, Beausang, and Shane Cummins were to find the target for CIT.

CIT ended the half strongly, and thanks to scores from Coffey and Beausang, they led 0-7 to 0-5 at the half-time break.

CIT got early second-half scores from Cummins, Beausang and Conor Prunty.

WIT had frees from their keeper Billy Nolan to keep them in touch, but a number of wides were to prove very costly.

Beausang added further efforts late on to rubber-stamp CIT’s progress, though they will know a much sterner examination will await them next time out.

Awaiting in the quarter-final stage for CIT are Mary Immaculate College, with the Limerick college having home advantage in that last eight clash which takes place next week.

Picture: INPHO/Laszlo Geczo
Picture: INPHO/Laszlo Geczo

Scorers for CIT: J Beausang (0-8 f, 0-1 65) 0-9 , S Cummins 0-3, A Coffey 0-2, C Prunty 0-1.

WIT: S Condon (0-3 f) 0-4, B Nolan 0-3 f, J Prendergast, S O’Gorman 0-1 each.

CIT: P Collins (Cork): E Healy (Cork), D Fanning (Limerick), K Galvin (Kilkenny): D Harrington (Cork), E Heffernan (Tipperary), C Prunty (Waterford): J Good (Cork), D Noonan (Cork): B Everard (Cork), R Walsh (Cork), S Cummins (Cork): J Beausang (Cork), A Coffey (Tipperary), E O’Shea (Cork)

Subs: P Geary(Cork) for O’Shea (22), N Fives for Cummins (60).

WIT: B Nolan (Tipperary): S Smyth (Cork), O McGrath (Kilkenny), K Hassett (Tipperary): R Flynn (Waterford), T Walsh (Kilkenny), S Ryan (Kilkenny): B Barrett (Kerry), M Whelan (Tipperary): S O’Gorman (Wexford), O Walsh (Kilkenny), S Murphy (Kilkenny): S Condon (Cork), C Hennessy (Kilkenny), J Prendergast (Waterford)

Subs: D Walsh (Waterford) for Smyth (h-t), R Smithers (Carlow) for Hennessy(39), E O’Halloran (Waterford) for Barrett (46), A Roche (Waterford) for O’Gorman (59).

Referee: F Horgan (Tipperary).

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more