Dromtarriffe so close to provincial glory after falling just short in extra time

Dromtarriffe so close to provincial glory after falling just short in extra time
The Dromtarriffe players after the defeat by Beaufort. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

Beaufort 2-13 Dromtarriffe 2-12

BEAUFORT broke Dromtarriffe hearts in Mallow yesterday, taking the MJFC title in dramatic circumstances in front of just under 3,400 fans.

The Kerry side came into the tie as red hot favourites but were shocked into a reaction after the North Cork side put it up to them in a way that most thought highly unlikely.

Beaufort got off to the dream start with a goal on the board inside 60 seconds.

Captain Nathan Breen burst through from the middle and played a one-two with Padraig Doona before finishing with some style past Dan Mann in the Dromtariffe goal.

Dromtariffe responded with a tasty score from corner forward Daniel O’Keeffe, however the Kerry side continued their impressive dominance in the middle with three more surging runs that could easily have resulted in goals.

However, thanks to some wayward shooting and some wonderful last-ditch defending, the Kingdom side were restricted to minors rather than majors.

Beaufort looked to be playing well within themselves by the quarter-hour mark, leading by four, however a moment of brilliance from Dromtarriffe captain Seamus O’Sullivan got the Cork side back to within one point, with the full-forward getting on the end of a long ball and finishing to the net to set in motion 10 minutes of Dromtariffe dominance.

O’Sullivan’s goal was quickly followed by O’Keeffe’s second and subsequently his third to put the boys in red into what had to be described as a surprise lead.

Beaufort threw everything at the game for the next few minutes, but the only score that resulted came from the boot of O’Keeffe, who bagged his fourth of the game, pushing his side into a two-point advantage.

Beaufort were never likely to take the Dromtarriffe challenge lying down and responded with their first point in 15 minutes.

However, Dromtarriffe were playing like champions all over the pitch and after some last-ditch defending and some scintillating forward play, the Duhallow boys hit two late scores and looked to be going in at the turn up by three.

However, captain fantastic O’Sullivan had more in store and after his attacking colleague Mark O’Connor had his goal attempt brilliantly saved, up stepped O’Sullivan to blast home his and Dromtarriffe’s second three-pointer.

A 2-6 to 1-3 half-time advantage was no less than Dromtarriffe deserved and they left the field to a rousing standing ovation.

There were some nervous moments on the restart as Beaufort attacked with menace. However, despite a series of good goal chances, the men in yellow came away with one point — a point that was cancelled out by the hugely impressive Conor O’Callaghan.

Beaufort again scored as the tension on the pitch and in the stands rose dramatically but Dromtarriffe responded to every score to stay six points clear.

Beaufort rocked Dromtariffe on 42 minutes when Ciaran Kennedy smashed the ball home after a goalmouth scramble, with Niall O’Connor and Fergal Hallissey dragging the Kerry side back to just one down before Kennedy landed a monster to tie the game up on 46 minutes.

Dromtarriffe notched up three wides in quick succession and fell behind when Hallissey landed his fourth point, but Dromtarriffe again responded, with O’Keeffe bagging the point of the game with just five minutes remaining on the clock.

Both sides added to their tally, with the Dromtarriffe star securing the final point of the 60 to send this to extra time.

Beaufort dominated the opening period of extra time, bagging the only two scores of the shortened half. They managed to hold Dromtariffe to a single point in the second half, which was ultimately enough to take the spoils on a brilliant day for the game of football.

The agony and ecstasy as Beaufort players celebrate, while Dromtarriffe sit dejected. Picture: Eddie O'Hare
The agony and ecstasy as Beaufort players celebrate, while Dromtarriffe sit dejected. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

Scorers for Beaufort: F Hallissey 0-6 (0-1 f), C Kennedy 1-3 (0-1 f), N Breen 1-0, P Doona 0-2, N O’Connor, M Breen 0-1 each .

Dromtarriffe: D O’Keeffe 0-8 (0-5 f), S O’Sullivan 2-0; C O’Callaghan 0-2, S Collins (0-1 f), D Donoghue 0-1 each.

BEAUFORT: M Moriarty; M J O’Connor, G Hartnett, S Kelliher; J O’Sullivan, J Kissane, C O’Connor; N Breen, M Breen; P Doona, D Coffey, F Hallissey; N O’Connor, C Kennedy, R Ferris.

Subs: I McGillycuddy for J O’Sullivan (39), P O’Sullivan for D Coffey (55), S Foley for MJ O’Connor (60), J O’Reilly for C O’Connor (77).

DROMTARRIFFE: D Mann; T Howard, C Cremin, S Howard; C Mahony, J Murphy, B O’Keeffe; A Buckley, D Donoghue, M O’Connor; C O’Callaghan, S Collins, D O’Keeffe.

Subs: D O’Connor for S Collins (46), E Mirneagh for C Mahony (47), M Healy for M O’Connor (50), G Murphy for D Donoghue (57), K O’Sullivan for E Murphy (bc 70).

Referee: D Grogan (Tipperary).

More in this section

Sponsored Content