Sarsfields gunning for a third league title in a row after breezing past Piarsaigh

Sarsfields gunning for a third league title in a row after breezing past Piarsaigh
Sarsfields' Aaron Myers hit 2-1 against Piarsaigh. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

Sarsfields 5-21 Na Piarsaigh 2-7

SARSFIELDS are through to the final of the Cork’s Red FM Division 1 Hurling league after comprehensively defeating a weakened Na Piarsaigh in Mayfield on Monday.

The 23-point win came with the help of 13 different scorers on the night as they deservedly sealed their place in Sunday’s showpiece occasion against a talented Blackrock side, who edged past St Finbarrs in the other semi-final.

Na Piarsaigh started the game brightly as they added two early points through Eoin McCarthy and Kieran Waters but their opponents from Glanmire soon gained control of proceedings.

They were level by the fifth minute thanks to scores from James O’Leary and Liam Healy and they soon raced into a commanding lead by the quarter of an hour mark as they added six more points without a response.

Na Piarsaigh would grab two more points before the half time but it had little effect as points from Eoin O’Sullivan and Cian Roche followed by a stunning goal from Luke Hackett ensured Sars led 1-10 to 0-4 at the break.

Piarsaigh pulled a goal back shortly after the interval through Eoin McCarthy but their hopes of a comeback were soon dashed as Sars added a further 2-2 to their tally with Aaron Myers netting two well taken goals, 3-12 to 1-4.

Eoin Sheehan emphatically drilled a penalty into the top left corner but his Na Piarsaigh side were now just playing for pride. Keith Buckley fired over two great scores as well but that was in amongst a further 1-3 with William Kearney raising the green flag, 4-15 to 2-6.

Sars made changes before the end but they continued to add to their total and Cian Darcy rifled a brilliant shot into the bottom right corner to complete the scoring late on.

Scorers for Sarsfields: E Sullivan 0-7 (0-3 f), A Myers 2-1, L Hackett 1-3, C Darcy 1-1, W Kearney 1-0, J O’Leary 0-2, L Healy, C Roche, T Óg Murphy, G Grey, C O’Sullivan, E Murphy and D Kearney 0-1 each.

Na Piarsaigh: E McCarthy 1-1, E Sheehan 1-0, K Buckley 0-2, K Waters and G Joyce 0-1 each, D Maguire and A Hogan 0-1 f each.

SARSFIELDS: A Kennedy; C Roche, K Crowley, D English; C Leahy, G Grey, C O’Sullivan; W Kearney, J O’Leary; E O’Sullivan, T Óg Murphy; L Healy, A Myers, L Hackett.

Subs: C Darcy for L Healy (32), E Murphy for W Kearney (47), D Kearney for J O’Leary (47), C Duggan for G Grey (52), T Murphy for T Óg Murphy (52).

NA PIARSAIGH: S Fitzgerald; E Sheehan, E Gunning, E Moynihan; A Hogan, P Rourke, D Gunning; C Buckley, C Murphy; K Buckley, G Joyce, E Hanifin; K Waters, E McCarthy, D Maguire.

Subs: C Flynn for C Murphy (25), E Duggan for D Maguire (ht), P Murphy for D Gunning (46), A Lehane for E G Joyce (49).

Referee: Simon Stokes (Tullylease).

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more