Glanmire capture minor football title after goal-packed battle with Mallow

Glanmire capture minor football title after goal-packed battle with Mallow
The Glanmire players celebrate their win against Mallow. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

Glanmire 4-16 Mallow 4-8 
GLANMIRE lifted the Carrigaline Court Hotel Premier 2 Minor Football Championship glory after pulling away from Mallow in the decider at Páirc Uí Rinn.

This was an absorbing encounter with both sides going all-out attack throughout. Yet at the end of this-action packed tussle, it was Glanmire who were left standing and basking in their success.

Mallow raced out of the blocks the quickest though. Charlie Carroll was on hand to tap the ball into the net from close range. Jamie O’Keeffe also converted a point early on, while they also had two excellent other chances on goal which were saved astutely by Rory Barry in the Glanmire goal.

For their part, Glanmire pointed through Brian Lagrue and Tommy Lonergan. Then Mallow raised a second green flag, as Sean McDonnell calmly converted to the corner.

Crucially though Glanmire hit 10 of the next 11 scores in a spell from the end of the first half to the middle of the second.

Included in that were three goals. The first came from the impressive Cathal McCarthy after being teed up by Lagrue. Then Ollie Compton raced through a few minutes later to convert before they got their third courtesy of a quality strike to the top corner by Daniel Horgan.

Mallow were not going to give up and Luke McCarthy goaled.

Despite their best efforts, Mallow were repelled. Glanmire managed late scores through McCarthy and Crowley, along with a goal from Lonergan late on to put the icing on top of the cake.

There were a number of sendings off towards the end after that goal following a series of scuffles involving players from both teams.

When order was restored, the referee blew for full time and Glanmire could officially kickstart their championship-winning celebrations.

Scorers for Glanmire: C McCarthy 1-6, T Lonergan 1-2, D Horgan 1-1, J Crowley 0-4, O Compton 1-0, B Lagrue, O Kelleher, C O’Donovan 0-1 each.

Mallow: C Caroll 1-3, S McDonnell, L McCarthy 1-1 each, R Lombard 1-0, D Sheehan, E Kelleher, J O’Keeffe 0-1 each.

GLANMIRE: R Barry: D Lynch, J Bowen, J Gibson: C Murphy, O Kelleher, D Murray: C O’Donovan, R O’Brien: T Lonergan, D Horgan, J Crowley: C McCarthy, O Compton, B Lagrue.

Sub: J Darcy for Lynch (64).

MALLOW: T Hickey: S O’Riordan, E Crone, C O’Driscoll: D Sheehan, N O’Riordan, K O’Mahony: A Bolster, R Lombard: M Fitzpatrick, E Kelleher, J O’Keeffe: C Carroll, S McDonnell, M Duignan.

Subs: T Woulfe for O’Riordan, D O’Sullivan for Fitzpatrick (42), L McCarthy for Duignan (43).

Referee: James O’Regan (Lough Rovers).

More in this section

Sponsored Content