Castlehaven hitman Brian Hurley gets deserved All-Star nomination

Castlehaven hitman Brian Hurley gets deserved All-Star nomination
Brian Hurley celebrates the first of his goals for Cork against Limerick. Picture: Larry Cummins.

CASTLEHAVEN forward Brian Hurley is Cork's sole All-Star football nominee.

The 27-year-old was previously in the mix for an award in 2014, during a period when he was in electric form for his club, winning back-to-back counties, and for the Rebels in high-profile games against Kerry, Dublin and Mayo.

However, hamstring injuries derailed him to the point where there were doubts he'd be able to compete at the highest level again. 

After hitting the net in the Rebels' last league game away to Armagh, Hurley shot 5-7 from play in championship this summer. His ability to mine scores from minimal possession as the apex of the attack was critical to Ronan McCarthy's side reaching the Super 8s.

There was no room in the PwC All-Star list for any of the other Corkonians who caught the eye in the summer, with Liam O'Donovan and Ruairí Deane unlucky not to be included.

Unsurprisingly, the Dubs dominate, with three contenders for Football of the Year: Stephen Cluxton, Jack McCaffrey and Con O'Callaghan.


Shaun Patton (Donegal); Stephen Cluxton (Dublin); Shane Ryan (Kerry).


Conor Moynagh (Cavan); Ryan McHugh, Stephen McMenamin (both Donegal); David Byrne, Mick Fitzsimons, Jack McCaffrey, James McCarthy, John Small (all Dublin); Tadhg Morley, Paul Murphy, Tom O’Sullivan (all Kerry); Chris Barrett, Colm Boyle, Paddy Durcan (all Mayo); Donal Keogan, Conor McGill (both Meath); Niall Daly (Roscommon); Ronan McNamee (Tyrone).


Jarlath Óg Burns (Armagh); Brian Fenton, Michael Darragh MacAuley (both Dublin); David Moran (Kerry); Aidan O’Shea (Mayo), Bryan Menton (Meath).


Rian O’Neill (Armagh); Jamie Malone (Clare); Brian Hurley (Cork); Jamie Brennan, Patrick McBrearty, Michael Murphy (all Donegal); Brian Howard, Ciarán Kilkenny, Paul Mannion, Con O’Callaghan, Dean Rock (all Dublin); David Clifford, Paul Geaney, Stephen O’Brien, Seán O’Shea (all Kerry); Conor Cox (Roscommon); Cathal McShane, Mattie Donnelly (both Tyrone).

Footballer of the year nominees: Stephen Cluxton, Jack McCaffrey, Con O’Callaghan (all Dublin).

Young footballer of the year nominees: Rian O’Neill (Armagh); David Clifford, Seán O’Shea (both Kerry).

More in this section

Sponsored Content