Cork survive late drama to defeat All-Ireland champions in league clash

Cork got their first win of the Allianz National Hurling league in a rip roaring encounter with Tipperary at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.
Cork survive late drama to defeat All-Ireland champions in league clash
Cork's Seamus Harnedy in action against Tipperary's Seamus Kennedy. Picture: INPHO/Ken Sutton

Cork 2-24 Tipperary 1-25 

Cork got their first win of the Allianz National Hurling league in a rip roaring encounter with Tipperary at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.

With both sides having lost their opening games neither was anxious to suffer a second loss and with minutes remaining it looked like the Rebels had done enough.

But a penalty for Tipp in injury-time made for late drama as it put a point between the sides, before a late point from Seamus Harnedy sealed the win for Cork.

Before that an injury to John 'Bubbles' O'Dwyer, not long on as sub delayed the game for more than five minutes before he was stretchered off.

Overall Cork were slightly the better side, despite losing both Aidan Walsh and Tim O'Mahony to first-half injuries.

Darragh Fitzgibbon and Mark Coleman come on for them respectively and both played their parts in Cork's win.

Alan Cadogan impressed up front as he started for the first-time, with Robert Downey putting in another impressive performance at full-back.

The Tipp side had good performances from the likes of Padraic Maher, Paddy Caddell and John McGrath.

Horgan set up Aidan Walsh for the opening score, with the returning Cadogan getting Cork's second.

Mark Kehoe got Tipp off the mark, with Alan Flynn getting their second to see them level after four minutes.

Damian Cahalane showing that his scoring prowess against Waterford wasn't a one-off as he got Cork's third, with Horgan making it 0-4 to 0-2 with seven minutes gone.

But Tipp came roaring back with John McGrath and Cadell, with two, to put them in front.

However Cork then enjoyed their best spell of the half when Cadogan set off on a run and his pass found Robbie O'Flynn who blasted to the back of the net. O'Flynn added a point from the re-start and Horgan scored from a free, to make it 1-6 to 0-5, with 13 minutes gone.

Kehoe pointed for Tipp, with Horgan responding and Kehoe was on target again to reduce the deficit.

Forde and Ronan Maher, from a free, had the sides level and it was score for score for the next five or six minutes and with a minute to half-time it was still level at 1-10 to 0-13.

Padraic Maher put Tipp in front, before Harnedy equalised and Fitzgibbon pointed to put Cork in front.

With the last strike of the half Horgan scored from a penalty, after O'Flynn was fouled by Sean O'Brien, to see Cork lead 2-13 to 0-15 at half-time.

Cian Darcy got the two opening scores of the second-half for Tipp, with Cadogan and Horgan replying for Cork.

A point from O'Flynn in the middle of scored from Padraic Maher and Niall O'Meara kept Cork in front. Two frees from Horgan stretched Cork's lead, but back came Tipp with scores from Forde and Morris.

Coleman and Fitzgibbon pointed and they looked like they had secured the win for Cork, but then came the late penalty drama to put only a point between them, 2-23 to 1-25.

But when you need a cool head late on then they don't come much cooler than Harnedy who slotted over to secure the points for Cork on a final score of 2-24 to 1-25.

Scorers for Cork: P Horgan 1-9 (pen, 0-8f), R O'Flynn 1-3, A Cadogan 0-4, C Harnedy, D Fitzgibbon 0-2 each, D Cahalane, A Walsh, L Meade, M Coleman 0-1 each.

Tipperary: B Hogan 1-0 (pen), M Kehoe, J McGrath, J Forde (3f) 0-4 each, P Maher 0-3, P Cadell, J Morris 0-2 each, J Cahill, R Maher (f), N O'Meara, A Flynn 0-1 each.

CORK: P Collins; C Spillane, R Downey, S O' Donoghue; C O' Leary, T O'Mahony, D Cahalane; B Cooper, L Meade; R O' Flynn, S Harnedy, A Walsh; A Cadogan, D Dalton, P Horgan.

Subs: D Fitzgibbon for A Walsh (21m inj), M Coleman for T O'Mahony (25m inj), C Lehane for D Dalton (46m), S Kingston for L Meade (62m).

TIPPERARY: B Hogan; J O'Dwyer, R Maher, S O'Brien; S Kennedy, P Maher, P Caddell; A Flynn, W Connors; J McGrath, C Darcy, M Breen; M Kehoe, J Forde, J Morris.

Subs: J Cahill for P Cadell (25m), N O'Meara for M Breen (33m), S Callanan for C Darcy (48m), B O'Mara for S Kennedy (53m), J O'Dwyer for J Forde (60m), P Flynn for J 0'Dwyer (temporary sub in injury-time).

Ref: James Owens, Wexford.

More in this section

Sponsored Content