Heartache again for Christians in Harty Cup final loss to St Flannan's

Heartache again for Christians in Harty Cup final loss to St Flannan's
The CBC team who played St Flannan’s in their Dr Harty Cup U19 A hurling final at Mallow. Pictures: Dan Linehan

DISAPPOINTMENT for CBC for the second year in a row as they fell just short in the Dr Harty Cup final at Mallow.

St Flannan's led from the off and were four to the good at the break. Though Christians rallied on the restart, the Clare school were always able to keep them at bay. 

Jack Cahalane kept the scoreboard ticking but they couldn't get ahead despite trimming the gap to the minimum.

Niall Hartnett did have a good goal chance that squirmed wide entering the fourth quarter but they didn't raise a green flag until deep into injury time from a penalty, which was too late to influence the result.

The one consolation for the Cork side is that the core of their team will return to action next season and the youthful squad have the talent to push on again. 

Only four the starting team featured in the 2019 Harty Cup final loss to Midleton CBS.

There is an All-Ireland series to come, starting next weekend, for both teams.

CBC face Pres of Athenry while Flannan's meet St Kieran's from Kilkenny. The rugby side of the school have a Munster Senior Cup decider on the horizon against old foes Pres.

Scorers for St Flannan’s: C Galvin (0-5, 0-4 frees), K O’Connor (0-4), D Cahill (1-0), C Hegarty and O O’Donnell (0-2 each), T Butler and P Power (0-1 each),

CBC: J Cahalane (1-9, 1-0 pen, 0-8 frees), R Cotter (0-2), E Kirby (0-1).

ST FLANNAN’S: C Broderick (Clarecastle); N Walsh (The Banner), D Healy (Clarecastle), M Reidy (Ballyea); T Butler (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield), C Galvin (Clarecastle, Joint-Capt), S Casey (Ballyea); C Hegarty Kilnamona, (Joint-Capt), J Collins (Éire Óg); A Brohan (Ruan), C Cassidy (Clooney Quin), K O’Connor (Corofin); P Power (Newmarket-on-Fergus), D Cahill (Corofin), O O’Donnell (Crusheen).

Subs: J Doherty (Clarecastle) for C Cassidy (45), D Cunningham (Clooney Quin) for P Power (54), D Nagle (St Joseph’s Doora Barefield) for A Brohan (57), R Power (Ruan) for O O’Donnell (59).

CBC: E O’Neill (Blarney); G Reddy (Midleton), S Kingston (Ballinora), E Downey (Glen Rovers); P Cummins (St Colman’s), C Daly (Lismore), G Mulcahy (Glen Rovers); J Dwyer (Ballincollig), E Kidney (Cobh); E Kirby (Blarney), N Hartnett (Douglas, Capt), D McSweeney (Blarney); R Cotter (Blackrock), J Cahalane (St Finbarr’s), D Burke (Douglas).

More in this section

Sponsored Content