Cork hurling: 1996 was a year to remember for Avondhu division

Cork hurling: 1996 was a year to remember for Avondhu division
Avondhu's Ray O'Connell takes on Imokilly's Seamus Collins at Páirc Uí Chaoimh in 1996. Picture: Dan Linehan

TWENTY FOUR years ago Avondhu senior hurlers won their third Cork SHC title in what was a great year for the division with many club sides reaching county finals.

In 1952 they won their first Cork County title with a close win over St Finbarr’s.

They were also County champions in 1966 when the defeated UCC in the final.

Thirty years later Avondhu hurlers had a very good campaign in the Cork County SHC. In the opening round, they easily accounted for Cork RTC and then followed with a single point win over Carbery.

The North Cork Divisional side then faced St Catherine’s in the Cork County quarter-final. Having won that game they faced Glen Rovers in the county semi-final.

This game finished all square 2-11 to 0-17. Avondhu won the replay by 4-14 to 2-12 after they were ahead at half time by 3-5 to 1-8.

On the resumption, early points by Raymond O’Connell and Fergal McCormack opened up a five-point lead. Points by Brian O’Driscoll, Shane Killeen and Will O’Donoghue sealed the win.

The Cork County final against Imokilly finished all square 1-12 each. The replay on October 6 in Páirc Uí Chaoimh saw Avondhu take the County title by 0-13 to 1-8.

The winning side: Sean Clifford (Newtownshandrum), Niall O’Donnell (Fermoy), Conor Hannon (Shanballymore), John McCarthy (Newtownshandrum), John Walsh (Mallow), Pat Mulcahy (Newtownshandrum), Trevor Cooney (Fermoy), Diarmuid Lynch (Ballygiblin), Fergal McCormack (Mallow), Aidan Kenny (c, Kilworth), Brian O’Driscoll (Killavullen), Raymond O’Connell (Mallow), Shane Killeen (Fermoy), Dave Moher (Ballygiblin), Ronan Sheehan (Mallow).

Subs: Willie O’Donoghue (Kilworth) for Shane Killeen, Jody Hayes (Mallow) for Dave Moher.

As well as the Avondhu senior hurlers bringing county honours to the division there were many other county championships won.

Newtownshandrum and Cloyne drew in the County IHC final 1-10 to 2-7. The replay in Páirc Uí Chaoimh was again very close and tense. In the end, Newtown were county champions by 0-12 to 0-9.

Jerry O'Connor taking on Diarmuid O'Sullivan in '96. Picture: Dan Linehan
Jerry O'Connor taking on Diarmuid O'Sullivan in '96. Picture: Dan Linehan

Clyda Rovers took the County IFC title when they overcame Carrigaline at Páirc Uí Chaoimh by 0-16 to 1-4.

Dromina took the County MCHC 12 a-side title when they defeated St James Ardfield in Church Road by 1-13 to 1-10. Buttevant won the County JBHC final when they accounted for Doheny’s 1-11 to 0-5 at Páirc Uí Rinn.

In the County JAFC final in Páirc Uí Rinn Kilshannig defeated Youghal 1-7 to 0-5.

Buttevant were beaten in the County MBHC final by St Catherine’s in Ballyhooly by 7-13 to 0-8. Ballyhea reached the County MAHC final but lost out to Aghabullogue by 3-11 to 1-6 in Banteer.

More in this section

Sponsored Content