portal_normal PUBLICATION STRUCTURE cat: /publications/bn-breakingnews/ireland/national


portal_normal STRUCTURE section: nationalnews

portal_normal getURLCurrent: /web/eveningecho/nationalnews/detailedstory?p_p_id=DetailedStory_WAR_portalsuite&p_p_lifecycle=0&_DetailedStory_WAR_portalsuite_arg_detailstory_uuid=41714649-7b0d-41b3-b91e-a947b5e9167b

portal_normal getPortalURL getURLCurrent: http://www.echolive.ie./web/eveningecho/nationalnews/detailedstory?p_p_id=DetailedStory_WAR_portalsuite&p_p_lifecycle=0&_DetailedStory_WAR_portalsuite_arg_detailstory_uuid=41714649-7b0d-41b3-b91e-a947b5e9167b

portal_normal getPortalURL: http://www.echolive.ie

portal_normal domain: http://www.echolive.ie

STRUCTURE EE_062016_general_layout.tpl - url: /nationalnews/Green-list-a-bad-idea-says-former-IMO-president-41714649-7b0d-41b3-b91e-a947b5e9167b-ds

STRUCTURE EE_062016_general_layout.tpl - section: nationalnews

STRUCTURE EE_062016_general_layout.tpl - orgcat: orgcat = /PUBLICATIONS/BN-BREAKINGNEWS/IRELAND/National


'Green list' a bad idea says former IMO president

Irish people are now able to travel to 15 countries without having to restrict their movements when they return.

Last night the government signed off on the 'green list', which includes Italy, Greece, Norway and Finland.

Britain, France and Spain failed to make the list, and people are still being urged to avoid non-essential travel.

The list is likely to come under great scrutiny as it includes a number of countries which cannot be directly accessed from Ireland, such as Greenland and Monaco, which may lead to passengers getting connecting flights through countries not on the 'green list'.

Dr Martin Daly, a former president of the Irish Medical Organisation, says the list is a very bad idea.

"In terms of the advice that there is a list of green countries that people can travel to, that in effect gives a mixed message to the public.

"The Government really need to clarify what is essential and what is non-essential travel."

The list caused tension within the Government, with Táiniste Leo Varadkar saying the publication of the list sent out mixed messages.

Despite the publication, all passengers regardless of their country of origin will be required to fill out a Passenger Locator Form for the purpose contact tracing.

The countries included on the list are:

  • Malta
  • Finland
  • Norway
  • Italy
  • Hungary
  • Estonia
  • Lativia
  • Lithuania
  • Cyprus
  • Slovakia
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Gibraltar
  • Monaco
  • San Marino