Limerick grab record haul of hurling All-Stars

No joy for Cork duo nominated Mark Coleman and Shane Kingston
Limerick grab record haul of hurling All-Stars

Tom Morrissey of Limerick is tackled by Tadhg De Búrca of Waterford, two All-Star winners for 2020. Picture: Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

NINE PwC All-Stars for the Limerick hurlers reflects their dominance in 2020, league, Munster and All-Ireland champions.

Nine is the highest number won by any team, matching the Dublin footballers last season and on a par with the great Kilkenny hurling teams of 1983, 2000 and 2008 and iconic Dublin and Kerry football teams of 1977 and 1981 respectively.

As expected, Cork's Mark Coleman and Shane Kingston didn't make the cut from the nominees in what is the 50th year of the prestigious awards scheme. 

Waterford sharp-shooter Stephen Bennett is the 1,500th All-Star award presented since the launch of the scheme back in 1971.

Bennett is joined by Déise colleagues Tadhg de Búrca and Jamie Barron in the team. Galway’s defensive rock Daithí Burke is honoured for the fifth time in defence, the prolific Clare ace Tony Kelly picks up a second career award, while TJ Reid’s status among the game’s greats is enhanced with a fifth.

Tony Kelly of Clare scores from a free against Wexford. Picture: Matt Browne/Sportsfile
Tony Kelly of Clare scores from a free against Wexford. Picture: Matt Browne/Sportsfile

Another notable piece of history is made in the choice for goalkeeper. Nicky Quaid’s selection sees the Limerick custodian follow in the footsteps of his late father Tommy who was also a goalkeeping hero with Limerick and an All-Star in 1992. It is the fourth time that a father and son duo have been honoured in hurling – following Tipp’s Ken and Brian Hogan, Richie Power senior and junior in Kilkenny and Fan and Philly Larkin from Kilkenny.

In addition to this there is yet another Limerick landmark in the selection of brothers Dan and Tom Morrissey. Brothers winning All-Stars is not rare – but siblings honoured in the same year is more unusual and an added feat for the Ahane duo.

Wexford’s Martin and John Quigley in 1974 were the first set of brothers to be picked on the same hurling team – followed by Kilkenny’s John and Ger Henderson in 1983, and Ger and Liam Fennelly also in 1983.

Tipp’s Conal and Cormac Bonnar were both honoured in the same year twice – in 1989 and 1991. Billy and Johnny Dooley also shared the honours twice in 1994 and 1995.

Tipp’s Paul and Eoin Kelly featured on the 2002 team and Cork’s Sean Óg and Setanta Ó hAilpín were there in 2003, and Ben and Jerry O’Connor featured in 2005. 

More recently it is an honour bestowed on Galway’s Ollie and Joe Canning in 2009 and Tipp’s Ronan and Pádraic Maher in 2016 and 2019.

PwC All-Stars Hurling 2020 

1. Nicky Quaid (Limerick).

2. Seán Finn (Limerick, 2018, 2019).

3. Dan Morrissey (Limerick, 2018).

4. Daithí Burke (Galway, 2015, ‘16, ‘17, ‘18).

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick).

6. Tadhg de Búrca (Waterford, 2015).

7. Kyle Hayes (Limerick).

8. Jamie Barron (Waterford, 2016, ‘17).

9. Tony Kelly (Clare, 2013).

10. Gearóid Hegarty (Limerick).

11. Cian Lynch (Limerick, 2018).

12. Tom Morrissey (Limerick).

13. Aaron Gillane (Limerick, 2019).

14. TJ Reid (Kilkenny, 2012, ‘14, ‘15, ‘19).

15. Stephen Bennett (Waterford).

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year: Gearóid Hegarty (Limerick).

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year:

Eoin Cody (Kilkenny).

PwC GAA/GPA Footballer of the Year: Brian Fenton (Dublin).

PwC GAA/GPA Young Footballer of the Year: Oisín Mullin (Mayo).

More in this section

Sponsored Content