Tough win for a saturated CBS

Tough win for a saturated CBS

Eoghan O’Sullivan, Midleton chases Brian Roche, St Colman’s College in yesterday’s Dr O’Callaghan Cup final at Páirc Uí Rinn. Picture: Larry Cummins

The East Cork school were 0-11 to 0-10 winners of the second-level hurling competition, thanks to a haul of eight points from Liam Gosnell.

Both schools will be back in action early in 2017 in the quarter-finals of the Harty Cup, the draw for which has been made.

CORK are guaranteed schools in the semi-finals of the Dr Harty Cup and Corn Uí Mhuirí after the draws produced a couple of cracking derbies in the new year.

In hurling, it’s either CBC or St Colman’s, Fermoy, who’ll advance from their January 11 meeting to play Midleton CBS or the holders Ardscoil Rís.

And in football, Coláiste Chríost Rí, the last Cork school to win the Corn Uí Mhuirí in 2011, meet St Francis College, Rochestown, on January 18 for the right to face Tralee CBS or Intermediate School, Killorglin, in the semis.

This will be Christians’ fourth game this season, defeating St Joseph’s, Killmallock, before losing to Scoil na Trionoide Naofa, Doon, and then overcoming Roco by 4-17 to 1-13 in the knock-out phase.

St Colman’s, who won the last of their nine titles in 2003, overcame Midleton CBS and St Flannan’s to reach this stage, needing extra-time to find a way past the Clare college.

Midleton CBS pulled the short in last night’s draw, when pitted against the defending champions, Ardscoil Rís, who are again one of the favourites.

The east Cork school recovered from their St Colman’s defeat to get the better of Doon by 1-15 to 1-12 to make the last-eight. Midleton CBS were the last Cork side to lift the famous cup in 2006.

Críost Rí won all three games to top their Corn Uí Mhuirí group while Roco were also undefeated in theirs, winning two and drawing with Tralee, whose better points’ difference earned them pole position.

Rochestown won the competition once, in 1950, but reached the decider again in 2015 only to lose to Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne after a replay.

Dr Harty Cup quarter-final draw: (A) Thurles CBS v Our Lady’s Templemore, (B) Waterford De La Salle v Nenagh CBS; (C) Ardscoil Ris v Midleton CBS, (D) CBC v St Colman’s, Fermoy. Semi-finals: winner A v winner B, winner C v winner D Corn Ui Mhuiri quarter-final draw: (A) Colaiste Chriost Ri v St Francis College, Rochestown, (B) Tralee CBS v Intermediate School, Killorglin; (C) St Flannan’s v Mercy Mounthawk, Tralee, (D) Pobalscoil Chorca Dhuibhne v St Brendan’s, Killarney. Semi-finals: winner A v winner B, winner C v winner D.

More in this section

Sponsored Content