Cork rugby ace Peter O'Mahony among 11 Irish players to make the Lions squad

Cork rugby ace Peter O'Mahony among 11 Irish players to make the Lions squad
Peter O'Mahony and Simon Zebo of Munster during squad training. Picture: Diarmuid Greene/Sportsfile

CORK powerhouse Peter O'Mahony has been selected for the British and Irish Lions touring party to New Zealand.

However fellow Munster star Simon Zebo wasn't picked for the trip, though there is a Leeside connection in Tadhg Furlong, as the Leinster behemoth has roots in Whiddy Island near Bantry.

Munster trio O'Mahony, Conor Murray and CJ Stander are included among 11 Irish players selected. Murray was touted as a potential captain, but that honour goes to Wales' Sam Warburton.

Ireland full-back Jared Payne, England wing Jack Nowell and Wales back row Ross Moriarty are surprise call-ups in Warren Gatland's 41-man squad. Payne is one of 11 Irish players to make the cut, with Robbie Henshaw, Conor Murray, Johnny Sexton, Rory Best, Tadhg Furlong, Iain Henderson, Jack McGrath, Sean O’Brien, Stander and O’Mahony also selected.

Dylan Hartley has been omitted from the squad for this summer's tour to New Zealand.

Hartley is the third successive England captain to miss out, following in the footsteps of Chris Robshaw and Steve Borthwick, but the RBS 6 Nations champions still supply the largest contingent, numbering 16 players.

British and Irish Lions squad for summer tour of New Zealand: 

Dan Biggar (Wales), Elliot Daly (England), Jonathan Davies (Wales), Owen Farrell (England), Leigh Halfpenny (Wales), Robbie Henshaw (Ireland), Stuart Hogg (Scotland), Jonathan Joseph (England), Conor Murray (Ireland), George North (Wales), Jack Nowell (England), Jared Payne (Ireland), Jonathan Sexton (Ireland), Tommy Seymour (Scotland), Ben T'eo (England), Anthony Watson (England), Rhys Webb (Wales), Liam Williams (Wales), Ben Youngs (England), Rory Best (Ireland), Dan Cole (England), Taulupe Faletau (Wales), Tadhg Furlong (Ireland), Jamie George (England), Iain Henderson (Ireland), Maro Itoje (England), Alun Wyn Jones (Wales), George Kruis (England), Courtney Lawes (England), Joe Marler (England), Jack McGrath (Ireland), Ross Moriarty (Wales), Sean O'Brien (Ireland), Peter O'Mahony (Ireland), Ken Owens (Wales), Kyle Sinckler (England), CJ Stander (Ireland), Justin Tipuric (Wales), Mako Vunipola (England), Billy Vunipola (England), Sam Warburton (Wales, capt).

More in this section

Sponsored Content