Cork aces Coleman and Horgan make the All-Star team

Cork aces Coleman and Horgan make the All-Star team
Mark Coleman. Picture: Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

CORK’S superb victory in the Munster hurling championship has been rewarded with two All-Stars. 

Teenager sensation Mark Coleman and sharpshooter Patrick Horgan will receiving their awards at tomorrow's function in Dublin.

Galway topped the list of award winners with seven selections, Waterford have received five with Cork on two and Tipperary with one.

Coleman’s recognition in his first season at senior level is a reward for his excellence during three very difficult games in the provincial arena. He slotted in like a veteran in the number seven shirt and his pinpoint distribution from that position, his time on the ball and a few very good scores as well all combined to secure him this very prestigious award.

His selection is a tribute to former team boss, Kieran Kingston who was not slow in giving him his opportunity alongside a few more very young players who also performed very well in Cork’s emergence from the doldrums.

Patrick Horgan. Picture: Ray McManus/Sportsfile
Patrick Horgan. Picture: Ray McManus/Sportsfile

The picking of Horgan will brook no argument either after an outstanding campaign in the Cork attack where he was, by far, the standout player. After being left on the bench for a few league games, the Glen Rovers star burst forth in the championship and exhibited again his worth to Cork hurling.

He was in scintillating form during the voyage through Munster and played superbly too in the defeat by Waterford in the All-Ireland semi-final. It’s his second All-Star and it’s richly deserved.

A very strong case could have been made for Anthony Nash in the number one jersey and it must have been a very tight call between the Kanturk club man and Waterford’s Stephen O’Keeffe.

2017 All-Stars: S O’Keeffe; P Mannion, Daithí Burke, N Connors; P Maher, G McInerney, M Coleman; J Barron, David Burke; K Moran, J Canning, M Walsh; C Whelan, C Cooney, P Horgan.

Meanwhile, there are five vacant positions to be filled on the Executive of the Cork County Board for the coming year. 

Ger Lane’s three-year stint as chair has ended as has Tracy Kennedy in the vice-chair. It’s a similar story with Coaching Officer Kevin O’Donovan while Treasurer Pearse Murphy and Development Officer Richard Murphy have vacated their roles.

Kevin O’Donovan and Richard Murphy have indicated that they will run for the vice-chair, while Ms Kennedy is the odds-on favourite to succeed Lane and thus become the first female to hold that high office.

More in this section

Sponsored Content