O’Neill’s back to lead attack up in Down

O’Neill’s back to lead attack up in Down
Colm O'Neill. Picture: Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile

CORK make three changes in personnel and a series of positional switches for their second game in Division 2 of the National Football League against Down in Newry on Sunday, throw-in, 1.30pm.

Three players who were introduced during the opening round defeat by Tipperary at Páirc Uí Chaoimh last weekend are included from the start on this occasion.

They are Tomás Clancy (Fermoy), who is selected at left half-back, Cillian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig), who partners captain Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s) at midfield, and Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough), who is handed the number 14 jersey.

Coach Ronan McCarthy has moved UCC Sigerson Cup captain, Kevin Crowley (Millstreet), from centre-back to centre-forward to fill the void left by hamstring victim Sean Powter (Douglas), who is likely to miss the rest of the competition.

Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaighs), who lined up at left half-back against Tipp, now starts at centre-back.

In attack, Mark Collins (Castlehaven), who scored 0-5 from full-forward last weekend, switches to the left corner with Stephen Sherlock (St Finbarr’s) among the substitutes along with midfielder Daniel O’Callaghan (Clyda Rovers).

There are three additions to the panel, Mattie Taylor (Mallow), Cian Dorgan (Ballincollig) and Peter Kelleher (Kilmichael).

Dorgan and Kelleher were on opposite sides in the Sigerson Cup during the week with Dorgan helping UCC to a narrow win over the Garda College.

Despite the two-goal defeat by Tipperary, McCarthy believes Cork are moving in the right direction.

“We’re confident results will come eventually. We’re trying to develop a team and a panel of players. We’re happy with the way the lads trained and with their attitude, too,” he said.

CORK: M White (Clonakilty); S Ryan (St Finbarr’s), J O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), M McSweeney (Newcestown); K Flahive (Douglas), B O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaighs), T Clancy (Fermoy); I Maguire (St Finbarr’s), captain, C O’Hanlon (Kilshannig); S White (Clonakilty), K Crowley (Millstreet), R Deane (Bantry Blues); J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers), C O’Neill (Ballyclough), M Collins (Castlehaven).

Subs: R Price (O’Donovan Rossa), C Dorman (Bishopstown), M Taylor (Mallow), D O’Callaghan (Clyda Rovers), K O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaighs), C Dorgan (Ballincollig), M Hurley (Castlehaven), P Kelleher (Kilmichael), S Sherlock (St Finbarr’s).

More in this section

Sponsored Content