All-Ireland winner Shields calls it a day for Cork 

All-Ireland winner Shields calls it a day for Cork 
Michael Shields back in 2015 at Croker. Picture: INPHO/Cathal Noonan

MICHAEL SHIELDS is the latest 2010 All-Ireland football winner to call it a day as Cork named four debutants for their season opener against Waterford in the McGrath Cup in Dungarvan on Sunday.

The 31-years-old St Finbarr’s player cited injury and family and work commitments as the reasons behind his decision to end his association with the county’s footballers which dates back to 2005.

Shields’s medal haul also includes an All-Ireland U21, three Munsters, two All-Stars and four national leagues, two of which he captained.

Cork’s newcomers are Eoin Lavers (Dohenys), Micheal McSweeney (Newcestown) and Kevin Flahive (Douglas) in defence and Cillian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig) at midfield.

There are six survivors from the side, which lost to Mayo by a point after extra-time in the qualifiers last July.

They are goalkeeper Ryan Price (O’Donovan Rossa), left half-back Jamie O’Sullivan (Bishopstown), midfielder Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s) and Sean Powter (Douglas), Mark Collins (Castlehaven) and John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers) in attack.

Four more players, full-back Conor Dorman (Bishopstown), centre-back Sean White (Clonakilty), right half-forward Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues) and full-forward Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough), were introduced as substitutes.

There’s a recall for Cathal Vaughan (Iveleary), who has been through the injury wringer during a career, which promised much following his league debut in 2014.

There’s a youthful look to the bench. Padraig Clancy (Fermoy) is rewarded for some eye-catching displays for Avondhu while there’s a ’Barr’s trio of Stephen Sherlock, Sam Ryan and Dylan Quinn.

CORK: R Price (O’Donovan Rossa); E Lavers (Dohenys), C Dorman (Bishopstown), M McSweeney (Newcestown); K Flahive (Douglas), S White (Clonakilty), J O’Sullivan (Bishopstown); I Maguire (St Finbarr’s), C O’Hanlon (Kilshannig); R Deane (Bantry Blues), S Powter (Douglas), M Collins (Castlehaven); J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers), C O’Neill (Ballyclough), C Vaughan (Iveleary). 

Subs: M White (Clonakilty), S Wilson (Douglas), S Ryan (St Finbarr’s), D Quinn (do), M Taylor (Mallow), P Clancy (Fermoy), C Kiely (Ballincollig), D O’Callaghan (Clyda Rovers), C Dorgan (Ballincollig), M Hurley (Castlehaven), S Sherlock (St Finbarr’s).

More in this section

Sponsored Content