Fraggie gets selector’s role on Cork senior hurling management team

Fraggie gets selector’s role on Cork senior hurling management team
Cork captain Kieran Murphy taking on Limerick in 2010. Picture: Des Barry

FORMER Cork hurling captain, Kieran ‘Fraggie’ Murphy from Sarsfields will be one of John Meyler’s selectors on the senior inter-county team next season.

They will be assisted by former Bishopstown player Donal O’Mahony, currently the coach of the CBC team that has been making a big impact in the Harty Cup. O'Mahony was a goalkeeper coach during Kieran Kingston's two-year stint at the helm.

The trio will be joined by a member of Denis Ring’s U21 team to ensure that there will be a strong link between both management teams as there was with Kingston and Meyler.

Ring, who led the Cork minors to the All-Ireland final this year will have Liam Martin, John Mortell, John Dwyer and Fergal Ryan alongside him.

The Cork minor management team will be led by John Considine and he will have Donal Burke, Niall O’Halloran, Sean Crowley and Blackrock’s Donie Collins alongside him.

Meanwhile, as was revealed in the Echo last week, Tracey Kennedy will become the first chairman of the County Board after there were no other nominations for that prestigious position.

However, there will be a contest for her successor in the vice-chair role with outgoing Development Officer Richard Murphy being challenged by Kevin O’Donovan who has just completed a three-year stint as Coaching Officer.

That position will now be filled by Aghada’s Ronan Dwane, last season’s Cork intermediate team boss and a former boss of Imokilly.

There will be a three-way tie for the position of Treasurer to succeed Pearse Murphy who has stepped down after a very successful tenure in that post.

Diarmuid Gowen from Fermoy, John Feeney from Dripsey and John O’Flynn from Freemount will be involved in that battle.

There will be a contest too for Development Officer and that will feature Midleton’s Pat Horgan against Urhan’s Jim Hanley.

Des Cullinane is the new Children’s Officer while Marc Sheehan and Ger Lane will be the Munster Council Delegates.

Bob Ryan continues as the Central Council Delegate.

More in this section

Sponsored Content