Two Cork derbies in the Harty Cup and Corn Uí Mhuirí quarter-finals

Two Cork derbies in the Harty Cup and Corn Uí Mhuirí quarter-finals

Eoghan O'Sullivan and Cathal Hickey, Midleton CBC, close in on Sean Busteed, AG, in last night's Dr O'Callaghan Cup final win at Riverstown. Picture: Jim Coughlan

CORK are guaranteed semi-finalists in the Dr Harty Cup and Corn Uí Mhuirí, after the draws set up a couple of derbies in both hurling and football.

In hurling, St Colman’s, Fermoy, last season’s beaten finalists, meet CBC in the quarter-final, on January 10, for the right to play either Ardscoil Rís or North Monastery AG in the last four.

On the other side of the draw, Midleton CBS were paired with Thurles CBS, with the holders, Our Lady’s, Templemore, facing John the Baptist Hospital.

In football, Hamilton High School, Bandon, were drawn to play Coláiste Choilm, Ballincollig, with the winners taking on either St Flannan’s or Tralee CBS.

De La Salle, Macroom, meet the All-Ireland champions, St Brendan’s, Killarney, with the winners facing Pobalscoil Chorcha Dhuibhne or Intermediate School, Killorglin. The quarter-finals are scheduled for January 17.

St Colman’s were the only Cork school to top their group, following wins over Blackwater Community School, Colaiste Iosaef, Kilmallock, and John the Baptist.

The Fermoy school have two sets of twins in their team, including the Roche brothers, Eoin and Brian, who won All-Ireland U17 medals during the year. The other twins are Craig and David Lardner.

Christians lost their opening group game, to Templemore, by a point, but followed up with wins over St Flannan’s and Castletroy, to book their play-off spot. Their team includes Cork minor, Robert Downey, from Glen Rovers.

The Mon also won two of their three section games, overcoming Thurles by a point, before losing to Nenagh CBS by the same margin.

The north-side school clinched their quarter-final place by defeating Doon in their concluding game.

Cork U17 and minor midfielder, Daire Connery, from Na Piarsaigh, is one of their main players, along with Blake Murphy, Shane O’Regan, and Liam Ryan.

In football, De La Salle, Macroom, and Hamilton High School won their groups, with Colaiste Choilm finishing runners-up in their section.

Neither Hamilton nor Coláiste Mhuire have ever won the Corn Uí Mhuirí. De La Salle captured their lone title in 2006.

Midleton CBS retained the Dr O’Callaghan Cup, at Riverstown, last night, out-scoring Gaelcoláiste Muhire AG 1-20 to 0-13.

Kian Farmer, Liam O’Shea, Liam Gosnell and Joe Stack all contributed generously to the scoresheet for Midleton CBS.

More in this section

Sponsored Content