Cracking games in store in Féile hurling as Na Piarsaigh, Bride, Ballincollig and Barrs battle for the premier title

Cracking games in store in Féile hurling as Na Piarsaigh, Bride, Ballincollig and Barrs battle for the premier title
St Finbarr's Ethan Twomey holds off Douglas' Ben Lucey and Niall Hartnett in the 2015 Féile final. They are one of the favourties for this year's title. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

AFTER one of the best days of the year weather-wise the group stages of the Féile hurling are now completed.

The Féile, be it hurling or football, always attracts the crowds and last weekend was no different.

But you can expect those numbers to swell on Friday night and Saturday morning at the various venues as sides vie for the right to represent Cork at the national finals, being hosted by Connacht this year.

At Na Piarsaigh the host club, along with Cobh and Sarsfields battled it out in one group, with Douglas, Courcey Rovers, and Glen Rovers in the other.

After some great games, the host club and Douglas met in the deciding game and it was Na Piarsaigh who came through to qualify for the semi-final tomorrow night.

At St Finbarr’s the host club, along with Éire Óg and Valley Rovers battled it out in Group A and in Group B Ballygarvan, Lisgoold and Blackrock were in action.

Again there were lots of close games along the way and just like at Na Piarsaigh, it was the host club who came to the fore to go forward to the semi-finals.

At Inniscarra (Ballyanley) the host club were joined by Ballincollig and Bishopstown in Group A, with Mallow, Blarney and Shandrum in Group B. This time the trend of the host club qualifying was broken with the Village emerging as winners. Ballincollig also made the final four last year, losing to Sars, who went on to defeat the Glen in the final.

The final group stage was split between two clubs and it was Bride Rovers who came to the fore, edging out Midleton for the last place in the top four.

There have been a variety of winners of the premier tier recently, Sars were victorious last season, with Glen Rovers the 2016 champions and the Barrs lifting the trophy the year before. In 2014 Midleton captured the crown with Na Piarsiagh landing the silverware a year earlier.

The semi-final draws were made during the week and it sees Na Piarsaigh up against Bride Rovers and St Finbarr’s taking on Ballincollig in the premier grade. Both games are at 6.45pm in Togher, with the final scheduled for 7.45pm.

In the A competition, St Colum's will take on Fermoy in one semi-final and Kinsale face Watergrasshill in the other. These games will be on Saturday morning.

In the B competition, also on Friday night, Cloughduv are up against St Vincent’s, with Clyda Rovers taking on Erin's Own. These games are at Cloughduv at 6.45pm and the final is at 7.45pm.



Premier semi-finals at St Finbarr’s: Na Piarsaigh v Bride Rovers, St Finbarr’s v Ballincollig, both at 6.45pm, with the final at 7.45pm.

B semi-finals at Cloughduv: Clyda Rovers v Erins Own, Cloughduv v St Vincent’s. both at 6.45pm, with the final at 7.45pm.


A semi-finals: St Colum's v Fermoy, Kinsale v Watergrasshill.

More in this section

Sponsored Content