An extra special victory for Ballinacurra's junior B footballers in the Munster semi-final

An extra special victory for Ballinacurra's junior B footballers in the Munster semi-final
Ballinacurra’s Jake Hegarty going for a point as he comes under pressure from Brian Noonan. Picture: Liam Burke Press 22

Ballinacurra 2-12 Dromcollogher-Broadford 0-12 

(after extra time)

BALLINACURRA will meet Doonbeg or Kilgarvan in the Munster JBFC final after they defeated Dromcollogher-Broadford in a highly entertaining semi-final at Knockaderry yesterday.

The opening half was played in heavy fog which made playing conditions rather difficult. The Cork champions started in a very positive manner with Padraic Nagle featuring strongly at midfield and in the fifth minute, they struck for the first of their two goals when Gary Canty and Killian Harty combined well to set up Jake Hegarty who scored a great goal.

Dromcollogher-Broadford with a good blend of youth and experience, and a number of players who were members of their Munster Senior Club football winning team of 2008, quickly settled with Pat Donnellan and John O’Kelly having points from frees by the 10th minute.

Ballinacurra responded when a good pass by Nagle set up Hegarty for a fine point. The remainder of the half was keenly contested with the Limerick side finding scores easier to come by.

John O’Kelly (2) and Pat Donnellan kicked over pointed frees while Ballinacurra had a point by Killian Harty after Matthew Thompson and Kelvin Krushal linked up well ensuring they couldn’t be separated at the interval at 1-2 to 0-5.

On the changeover the fog lifted and the game certainly came to life. The Limerick outfit shaded matters during the early exchanges with John Lynch, Pat Donnellan, John O’Kelly, Kevin McGill, Niall O’Brien and Micheal Reidy impressing as they moved 0-8 to 1-2 in front by the 40th minute and they looked on course for a place in the final. Ballinacurra’s response was swift.

Hegarty moved to centre-forward with Killian Harty going to the edge of the square and they had their first score in the 42nd minute when Killian Harty pointed. Further pressure by the East Cork side saw Padraic Nagle set up the hard-working Kelvin Krushal for a fine point to come within 0-8 to 1-4.

Ballinacurra tried hard to get back on parity but it was the West Limerick side that rose to the occasion once again and a dominant spell over the next couple of minutes saw John O’Kelly, Marty Stokes and Pat Donnellan with some fine points moved them 0-11 to 1-5 ahead in the 55th minute and they looked destined to progress to the final.

However, Ballinacurra with some fine displays by Darragh Graham. Gary Canty, Damian Daly, Thomas O’Leary, Padraic Nagle, Killian Harty, Kelvin Krushal, Stephen O’Brien and Jake Hegarty showed great battling qualities in the final moments to keep their season alive.

Two long-range points by Hegarty were followed by the equalising score in injury time when great work along the flank by Canty resulted in Killian Harty kicking over to force level at 0-11 to 1-8 and thus force extra time.

The opening period of extra time saw Ballinacurra show the greater fitness levels and they took an early lead when Kelvin Krushal kicked over. Moments later they moved a step closer to victory when Jake Hegarty cut through the heart of the Dromcollogher Broadford defence and finished an unstoppable effort to the net that moved them 2-9 to 0-11 clear.

Just before the half time whistle in extra time Kelvin Krushal and Stephen O’Brien combined well for Dave O’Donoghue who pointed and it gave them a 2-10 to 0-11 lead.

On the changeover Dromcollogher-Broadford opened with a Neil Conway point. Jake Hegarty and Kelvin Krushal added late points for Ballinacurra. The final takes place on December 9

Scorers for Ballinacurra: J Hegarty 2-4 (0-1 f), K Harty 0-4, K Krushal 0-3, D O’Donoghue 0-1.

Dromcollogher-Broadford: J O’Kelly 0-5 (0-4 f), P Donnellan 0-4f, M Stokes, M Reidy, N Conway 0-1 each.

BALLINCURRA: J Wyer; D Graham, T Costigan, T O’Meara; G Canty, D Daly, T O’Leary; M Thompson, P Nagle; S O’Brien, K Harty, S Wiggins; K Krushal, J Hegarty, G Harty.

Subs: S O’Connor for T O’Leary, D O’Donoghue for G Harty, T O’Leary for G Canty (inj ET), K Deady for K Harty (ET).

DROMCOLLOGHER-BROADFORD: T Brosnan; C Brosnan, B Noonan, B Boyce; K McGill, J Lynch, S Brosnan; P Donnellan, J Stokes; J O’Kelly, D Stack, T Stokes; N O’Brien, M Reidy, M Stokes.

Subs D Molyneaux for T Stokes (black card), K Lynch for M Reidy (inj), N Conway for D Stack, M Clancy for K McGill (ET), B Noonan for M Stokes (ET), D Stack for N O’Brien (inj ET).

Referee: Brendan Griffin (Kerry).

More in this section

Sponsored Content