Gore is named to start for Cork team drawn from the core of last year's panel

Gore is named to start for Cork team drawn from the core of last year's panel
Kilmacabea's Damien Gore gathers the ball from Delanys' James Mulcahy during the Cork JAFC semi-final at Bandon. Picture: Eddie O'Hare

CORK football boss Ronan McCarthy has named 10 players who featured in last season’s All-Ireland championship defeat by Tyrone for next Sunday’s McGrath Cup encounter with Limerick at Rathkeale, though there are a number of interesting new faces, including Kilmacabea’s Damien Gore.

Goalkeeper Mark White, defenders James Loughrey, Kevin Crowley, and Kevin Flahive, team captain and midfielder Ian Maguire and attackers Sean White, Ruairí Deane, and Brian Hurley all started against Mickey Harte’s team while Killian O’Hanlon and Matthew Taylor came on off the bench on a day when Cork suffered a very heavy loss.

The newcomers for the trip to the Limerick venue are corner-backs Kevin O’Donovan and Conor Dennehy, wing-back Paul Walsh and corner-forward Gore. The latter is a gifted and quick inside forward, who was minor the same year as Mark White.

Cork have lost a few high-profile names from last year's squad to retirement, including Donncha O'Connor, Colm O'Neill and Jamie O'Sullivan.

McCarthy will be hoping Cork get a few wins under their belt before they set off on the NFL trail in Division 2, where they have four games away and three at home.

Meanwhile, the status quo has prevailed as far as naming the Cork starting 15 for tonight’s Munster SHL encounter with Waterford is concerned, but, as was the case last Saturday in Ennis against Clare, there are likely to be changes.

Stephen McDonnell, Eoin Cadogan, Damien Cahalane, Eoghan Murphy and Shane Kingston were all listed to start against the Banner County but were replaced by David Griffin, Sean O’Donoghue, Robert Downey, William Kearney and Deccie Dalton.

Some of those replacements will be on the starting block again tonight with Downey, in particular, making an excellent debut at left half-back.

Dalton was unerring from the placed ball, ending up with 10 points alongside his name and forcing the Clare keeper, Keith Hogan, into two fine, first-half saves.

CORK (football v Limerick): M White (Clonakilty), K O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers), J Loughrey (Mallow), C Dennehy (St Finbarr’s), K Crowley (Millstreet), K Flahive (Douglas), P Walsh (Kanturk), I Maguire (St Finbarr’s), K O’Hanlon (Kilshannig), T Clancy (Fermoy), S White (Clonakilty), M Taylor (Mallow), D Gore (Kilmacabea), R Deane (Bantry), B Hurley (Castlehaven).

Subs: C Kelly (Éire Óg), P Murphy (Bandon), A Browne (Newmarket), L O’Donovan (Clonakilty), T Corkery (Cill Na Martra), J Fitzpatrick (Carbery Rangers), R O’Toole (Eire Og), E McSweeney (Knocknagree), M Collins (Castlehaven) P Kelleher (Kilmichael), C Óg Jones (Iveleary).

CORK (hurling v Waterford): P Collins, S McDonnell, E Cadogan, D Lowney, D Cahalane, T O’Mahony, E Murphy, C Cahalane, C Joyce, C Murphy, M O’Halloran, A Walsh, S Kingston, J Coughlan, R O’Flynn.

Subs: G Collins, R O’Regan, D Griffin, R Downey, W Kearney, D Dalton, C Beausang, N O’Leary, S Kennefick, C O’Callaghan, P Leopold.

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Echo 130Echo 130


Read all about the monthly winner’s and more.
Click Here


Podcast: 1000 Cork songs 
Singer/songwriter Jimmy Crowley talks to John Dolan

Listen Here

Add Echolive.ie to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more