Harty Cup drama as McCarthy's goal ensures Midleton set up an all-Cork final

Harty Cup drama as McCarthy's goal ensures Midleton set up an all-Cork final
Midleton CBS's Dylan Healy about to catch the sliotar ahead of De La Salle's Alan Kirwin. Picture: Sean Byrne

Midleton CBS 1-11 De La Salle Waterford 0-12 

MIDLETON CBS are back in the Dr Harty Cup final after a dramatic, last-gasp goal from Ryan McCarthy tore the heart out of a gallant De La Salle unit.

This was a compelling, honest to god Harty encounter at the Fraher Field last Saturday with both sides giving it everything in pursuit of that coveted final spot.

In fact, if another 20 minutes of extra-time had been required there would have been no dissenting voices.

Midleton CBS probably just about deserved it on the basis of chances created, quite a few of them not taken and they included a penalty in the opening sequences and a few missed efforts from other placed balls.

Over the course of the hour, they shot 12 wides as against just four for De La Salle but it mattered little when time was called four minutes into injury time.

McCarthy was the hero for Midleton CBS, his lengthy free in the game’s dying embers going all the way to the De La Salle net and that was the game’s defining moment even if it came so late.

Both defences were assertive at various stages with Ciaran Joyce a tower of strength in the Midleton CBS rearguard.

Ross O’Regan, despite not converting the penalty which was saved superbly by Mark Kilgannon, posted five points for the East Cork school while McCarthy, Gary Carroll, Joyce, Joe Stack and Cathal Hickey all got their names on the scoresheet.

De La Salle had the two best forwards on the pitch in Eoghan O’Reilly and Mark Fitzgerald but their efforts were to no avail in the end.

Midleton CBS had the advantage of a strong wind in the opening half but had just a point advantage at the break, 0-7 to 0-6.

In that half they failed to convert a penalty, a very scorable free and a 65 and there was a feeling at that juncture that those misses might come back to bite them.

Midleton CBS's Jason Hankard about to catch the sliotar over De La Salle's Tom Gallagher. Picture: Sean Byrne
Midleton CBS's Jason Hankard about to catch the sliotar over De La Salle's Tom Gallagher. Picture: Sean Byrne

De La Salle ‘keeper Kilgallon saved well from the penalty after Kian Farmer had been fouled while in that opening half, O’Reilly was very productive for the Waterford team.

Joyce fired over an inspirational point for Midleton CBS after eight minutes and it was obvious from a long way out that it would be difficult to drag these two sides apart.

When they resumed, Jason Hankard was denied a Midleton CBS goal by Sean O’Neill and the sides were deadlocked after Cormac Power split the posts with a De La Salle point.

Further points followed for De La Salle from Fitzgerald and O’Reilly and they were now looking the more likely winners.

It was tenacious stuff now from both sides with Midleton CBS digging deep to stay within touching distance of the side that they had drawn with earlier in the campaign.

With just six minutes remaining it was all square again at 0-11 apiece after CBS points from O’Regan and McCarthy.

Fitzgerald fired De La Salle back in front in the 59th minute but then arrived that dramatic Midleton goal in the 63rd minute from McCarthy.

Dramatic stuff indeed but it was Midleton’s day.

Midleton celebrate following the final whistle. Picture: Sean Byrne
Midleton celebrate following the final whistle. Picture: Sean Byrne

Scorers for Midleton CBS: Ross O’Regan 0-5 (0-2 f), Ryan McCarthy 1-1 f, Gary Carroll 0-2, Joe Stack, Cathal Hickey, Ciaran Joyce 0-1 each.

De La Salle College: Mark Fitzgerald 0-5 (0-1 f), Eoghan Reilly 0-4, Cormac Power 0-2 (0-1f), Tom Gallagher 0-1.

MIDLETON CBS: J McGann (Kiltha Óg), C O’Brien (Midleton), D Hogan (Killeagh), D Healy (Kiltha Óg), R Landers (Killeagh), C Joyce (Kiltha Óg), D Moran (Kiltha Óg), R McCarthy (Killeagh), S Quirke (Midleton), G Carroll (Midleton), C Hickey (Lisgoold), R O’Regan (Midleton), K Farmer (Midleton), J Stack (Kiltha Óg), J Hankard (Fr O’Neills).

Subs: P Hassett (Fr O’Neills) for Landers (36) A Nganou (Midleton) for Hickey (46) O Broderick (Killeagh) for Carroll (52). 

DE LA SALLE: M Kilgannon (Ballygunner), S Harney (Ballygunner), D Kenneally (De La Salle), S O’Neill (Ballygunner),T Gallagher (Ballygunner). C Wadding (Roanmore), C Ryan (Roanmore), K Mahony (Ballygunner), P Leavey (Ballygunner), A Kirwan (Mount Sion), S Walsh (De La Salle), M Fitzgerald (Passage),. E Reilly (Passage), C Power (Ballygunner), G Corbett (Ballygunner).

Subs: H White (Roanmore) for Kirwan (h-t), R Halloran (De La Salle) for Corbett (37), E O’Brien (Ballygunner) for Power (53),T Dalton (Ballygunner) for Walsh (64).

Referee: John McCormack (Tipperary).

More in this section

Sponsored Content