O'Mahony captains Munster for Connacht clash as Farrell returns from injury

O'Mahony captains Munster for Connacht clash as Farrell returns from injury
Peter O'Mahony at training this week. Picture: INPHO/Laszlo Gezco

MUNSTER boss Johann van Graan has made seven changes to the team that beat Leinster for tomorrow's Guinness Pro14 clash with Connacht at the Sportsground (7.35pm, live on TG4).

Peter O’Mahony captains the side as Chris Farrell returns from injury with Tommy O’Donnell, Alex Wootton, Alby Mathewson, Jeremy Loughman and Arno Botha also coming into the starting 15.

Billy Holland is named among the replacements and is set to make a landmark 200th Munster appearance. In doing so, Holland will become just the 10th Munster player to play 200 games for the province.

Andrew Conway moves to full-back for the clash with Keith Earls on the right flank and Wootton on the opposite wing.

Dan Goggin is joined by Farrell in the centres with Mathewson and Joey Carbery in the half-backs.

Loughman packs down in the front row with Niall Scannell and John Ryan as Jean Kleyn and last week’s Man of the Match Tadhg Beirne keep their places in the second row.

O’Mahony, O’Donnell and Botha complete the side.

MUNSTER (v Connacht): Andrew Conway; Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Dan Goggin, Alex Wootton; Joey Carbery, Alby Mathewson; Jeremy Loughman, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Jean Kleyn, Tadhg Beirne; Peter O’Mahony (c), Tommy O’Donnell, Arno Botha.

Replacements: Kevin O’Byrne, Dave Kilcoyne, Stephen Archer, Billy Holland, CJ Stander, Conor Murray, Tyler Bleyendaal, Sammy Arnold

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Echo 130Echo 130


Read all about the monthly winner’s and more.
Click Here


Podcast: 1000 Cork songs 
Singer/songwriter Jimmy Crowley talks to John Dolan

Listen Here

Add Echolive.ie to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more