Disappointment for the Rochestown College hurlers in the All-Ireland semi-final

Disappointment for the Rochestown College hurlers in the All-Ireland semi-final
Castlecomer CS' Colin Kiely challenges Rochestown's Paul O'Riordan. Picture: Patrick Browne

Castlecomer CS 3-15

Rochestown College 3-6

HEARTBREAK for Rochestown College in the semi-final of the All-Ireland Post-Primary Senior B Cup at the WIT Sports Complex on Saturday.

Overall they were beaten by a better team on the day, with Castlecomer CS dominating for large parts of the game.

The two key moments turned the tie in favour of the winners came just before and after half-time.

The first was a Ciaran Cooney goal in the 29th minute. The second came seven minutes into the second half when Alan O’Hare, just on seconds earlier as a sub for Rochestown, received a straight red card for an off-the-ball incident. Once they were down to 14 it was always going to be tough for Rochestown.

But to their credit, they tried, with the likes of Conor Russell, Paul O’Riordan, Alan Connolly and Cian McCarthy leading by example.

For the winners, the likes of Jack Buggy, Cooney, Jack Morrissey, and James Brennan were in top form.

Playing with the strong wind Castlecomer were in front in the first minute when Buggy pointed from a free and he added a second to double their advantage.

Cooney scored their third before Connolly got Rochestown off the mark.

Two more frees from Buggy, made it 0-5 to 0-1, with 17 minutes gone.

Rochestown's Alan Connolly and Castlecomer CS' Chris O'Keeffe. Picture: Patrick Browne
Rochestown's Alan Connolly and Castlecomer CS' Chris O'Keeffe. Picture: Patrick Browne

Connolly got Rochestown’s second, with Buggy replying with two more. Russell made it 0-3 to 0-7, with five minutes to half-time and at that stage, Rochestown would have been happy where they were at. But two 65s from Buggy, one coming after a superb save by Rochestown keeper, Jack McCarthy, put six between the sides.

On the stroke of half-time, Cooney got the game’s opening goal, to see Castlecomer lead 1-9 to 0-3 at the break.

In a dramatic start to the second half, there were three goals, before the sending off.

First O’Riordan goaled for Rochestown, but Castlecomer worked the ball straight down the pitch, with Declan Buggy finding the back of the net.

With 35 minutes gone Connolly got Rochetown’s second goal, to make it 2-3 to 2-9 and it was game on.

Two minutes later and it was disaster for Rochestown as O’Hare, somewhat harshly, was sent off as he took his place at corner-forward. He tangled with the corner-back, who played his part in the incident but received no punishment, and Roco were down to 14

As they tried to readjust Castlecomer hit them hard, on the scoreboard, and in the space of four minutes hit 1-3 to put the game beyond Rochestown.

Cooney and Morrissey pointed, with the former then goaling, before Morrissey pointed again, to make it 3-12 to 2-3 and it was game over for Rochestown.

But to their credit, they never stopped trying, with Connolly and Russell pointing to reduce the deficit. Cooney kept the scoreboard ticking over and with 53 minutes gone Russell got his side’s third goal, to make it 3-5 to 3-13.

Cormac Dowd pointed for the Cork side, with Cooney and Thomas Brennan replying to make it 3-15 to 3-6.

Roco kept going and had two late goal chances, from Connolly and Russell saved as Castlecomer move on to the final.

Scorers for Castlecomer CS: J Buggy 0-8 (4f, 0-2 65), C Cooney 2-4, D Buggy 1-0, J Morrissey 0-2, T Brennan 0-1.

Rochestown College: A Connolly 1-3 (3f), C Russell 1-2, P O’Riordan 1-0, C Dowd 0-1.

CASTLECOMER CS: K Downey (Conahy Shamrocks); C Kealy (St Martin’s), J Brennan (Erins Own), C McMahon (do); D Coogan (do), C Korff (do), D Delaney (Cloneen); D Bray (Erins Own), D Buggy (do); J Buggy (do), T Brennan (Cloneen), E Cahill (Conahy Shamrocks); M Doyle (Cloneen), J Morrissey (St Patrick’s), C Cooney (Cloneen).

Subs: D Coughlan (St Martin’s) for M Doyle, B O’Neill (Erins Own) for D Bray, (both 59).

ROCHESTOWN COLLEGE: J McCarthy (St Finbarr’s), K McSweeney (Douglas), D Murphy (do), S Brady (Ballygarvan); J O’Connell (Douglas), C McCarthy (Blackrock), B O’Neill (Douglas); S Fenton (Ballygarvan), R O’Halloran (Ballygarvan); A Connolly (Blackrock), P O’Halloran (Ballygarvan), A Hennessy (Blackrock); S Andrews (Shamrocks), C Russell (Douglas), P O’Riordan (Tracton).

Subs: N O’Connell (Cobh) for D Murphy, A O’Hare (Douglas) for S Andrews (both 37), C Dowd (Ballygarvan) for A Sheehy (52), S Harrington (Passage) for B O’Neill (59).

Referee: T Walsh, Waterford.

More in this section

Sponsored Content