Barrs to meet either Haven or Rosscarbery in third round

Barrs to meet either Haven or Rosscarbery in third round

St Finbarr’s captain Ian Maguire lifts the Andy Scannell Cup after the Cork County Senior Club Football Championship Final. Can Maguire help the Barrs retain their title this year?

HOLDERS St Finbarr’s face a serious challenge in round three of the county senior football championship following the draw at Páirc Uí Chaoimh last night.

The Togher club meet either Castlehaven or Carbery Rangers, both recent champions, as well, in the stand-out tie for a place in the quarter-finals, the draw for which will take place at a later stage.

The west Cork rivals square up in the most attractive of the four round-two ties.

City clubs, Bishopstown and St Nick’s, meet Carrigaline and Mallow respectively for a place in the third round while there’s an edge to the meeting of Newcestown and Valley Rovers, also in round two.

There’s another west Cork derby in round three between O’Donovan Rossa and Clonakilty, two clubs who appear to be in major revival mode this season.

The Skibbereen club are the Carbery U21 champions, always a competitive title, while Clon supply brothers Mark and Sean White, Tom Clancy and Liam O’Donovan to the Cork set-up.

City neighbours, Douglas and Nemo Rangers, are up against UCC and Dohenys respectively in round three while newcomers, Fermoy, shock winners over the Haven in round one, face Ilen Rovers.

In premier intermediate, city clubs Nemo Rangers second string and St Vincent’s face tough assignments in round two, taking on Castletownbere and Macroom respectively.

At the same stage, Aghada, who regraded from senior this season, were paired with Éire Óg in what’s expected to be another closely-fought contest.

There’s a city derby between last year’s beaten finalists, St Michael’s and Na Piarsaigh in the quarter-finals after the pair were handed byes to the last eight.

Knocknagree, one of the intermediate favourites, meet either Ballinora or Adrigole in round three with St Finbarr’s, possibly, awaiting in a repeat of last season’s encounter, won by the city club.

The draws are: SFC R2: Newcestown v Valley Rovers; Carrigaline v Bishopstown; Clyda Rovers v Ballincollig; Mallow v St Nick’s; Castlehaven v Carbery Rangers.

R3: Douglas v UCC; O’Donovan Rossa v Clonakilty; Duhallow v Carrigaline or Bishopstown; Dohenys v Nemo Rangers; Mallow or St Nick’s v Newcestown or Valley Rovers; Kiskeam v Clyda Rovers or Ballincollig; Fermoy v Ilen Rovers; St Finbarr’s v Castlehaven or Carbery Rangers.

PIFC R2: Castletownbere v Nemo Rangers; Macroom v St Vincent’s; Eire Og v Aghada; Naomh Aban v Newmarket.

R3: Cill na Martra v Macroom or St Vincent’s; Castletownbere or Nemo Rangers v Bandon; Naomh Aban or Newmarket v Eire Og v Aghada

Quarter-finals: Na Piarsaigh v St Michael’s, Cill na Martra v Macroom or St Vincent’s, Kanturk v winners Cill na Martra, Macroom or St Vincent’s; Ballingeary v winners Castletownbere, Nemo, Bandon.

IFC R2: Glenville v Mitchelstown; Ballinora v Adrigole; St Finbarr’s v Grenagh; Youghal v Millstreet; Kildorrery v Ballydesmond.

R3: C Glenville or Mitchelstown v Dromtarriffe; D Glanmire v Kildorrery or Ballydesmond, E Rockchapel v Glanworth; F Youghal or Millstreet v Mayfield; G Knocknagree v Ballinora/Adrigole; H St Finbarr’s or Grenagh v Aghabullogue.

Quarter-finals: Kinsale v Gabriel Rangers, winners C v D, winners E v winners F, winners G v winners H.

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more