Cork cruise past troubled Waterford to win by 13 points

Cork cruise past troubled Waterford to win by 13 points
8th June 2019....... Cork captain Seamus Harnedy is tackled by Waterford's Shane McNulty during the Munster SHC , round 4 at Pairc Ui Chaoimh Picture: Eddie O'Hare

Cork 2-30 Waterford 2-17

Cork cruised past troubled Waterford in Pairc Ui Chaoimh, eventually winning by 13 points. Waterford began with the breeze but Cork led early thanks to a third-minute Patrick Horgan goal and some fine point-taking. Waterford rallied with Stephen Bennett’s frees making it 1-3 to 0-3 on ten minutes.

Learn more Bennett kept Waterford in touch while Cork had more scorers from play, leading 1-5 to 0-7 20 minutes in. Stephen Bennett wasted a good goal chance on 24 minutes that could have galvanised Waterford; as it was Cork maintained that one-goal gap, and missed a gaping goal chance of their own through Seamus Harnedy on 28 minutes.

The goal that was threatening arrived two minutes later through Alan Cadogan after good work by Bill Cooper; when the latter and Mark Coleman added points it was 2-11 to 0-11 at the break. Waterford hit 1-1 on the resumption, Stephen Bennett hitting the goal, but Cork had five points in a row to restore their advantage, 2-17 to 1-12, by the 45th minute.

Shane Bennett had his side’s second goal, however, on 50 minutes - 2-18 to 2-14 as the lights came on in the stadium. Harnedy (two), Cadogan and sub Shane Kingston stretched Cork’s lead again, however, and it was an eight-point game turning into the final ten minutes. Cork finished with a flourish of points to end the game 2-30 to 2-17.

Scorers for Cork: P. Horgan (0-9 frees)(1-10); A. Cadogan (1-2); D. Fitzgibbon, S. Harnedy, S. Kingston (0-3 each); M. Coleman, T. O’Mahony (0-2 each); C. Lehane, D. Kearney, M. Ellis, L. Meade, B. Cooper (0-1 each).

Scorers for Waterford: Stephen Bennett (0-7 frees)(1-8); Shane Bennett (1-2); J. Prendergast, P. Hogan (0-2 each); C. Lyons, J. Barron, A Gleeson (sl) (0-1 each).


A. Nash, S. O’Donoghue, E. Cadogan, N. O’Leary, R. Downey, M. Ellis, M. Coleman, B. Cooper, D. Fitzgibbon, D. Kearney, S. Harnedy, L. Meade, A. Cadogan, P. Horgan, A. Walsh.

Subs: S. Kingston for Walsh (41); C. Lehane for Kearney (46); C. Joyce for Downey (55); R. O’Flynn for Meade (65); T. O’Mahony for Cooper (68).


B. Nolan, S. McNulty, C. Prunty, D. Lyons, C. Lyons, T. de Burca, C. Gleeson, J. Barron, M. Kearney, Shane Bennett, B. O’Halloran, J. Prendergast, T. Ryan, Stephen Bennett, P. Hogan.

Subs: S. Roche for Kearney (HT); A. Gleeson for Ryan (46); C. Roche for O’Halloran (53); S. Fives for D. Lyons (55); M. Walsh for Prendergast (64).

Referee: J. Keenan (Wicklow).

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more