Féile round-up: Cork teams fly the Rebel flag in hurling and camogie finals

Féile round-up: Cork teams fly the Rebel flag in hurling and camogie finals
Sean Duggan,Turloughmore, battles Andrew O'Driscoll, Na Piarsaigh. Picture: Jim Coughlan.

THE John West Féile hurling and camogie competitions were a huge success in Cork and Kerry this weekend, with over 600 games played and 32 finals on Sunday.

Na Piarsaigh came up short in the Division 1 hurling decider, but Éire Óg made history by edging out Sars in the top tier of the camogie.

In the John West Division 2 final Kilcormac/Killoughey from Offaly had a three-point win over Valley Rovers, after beating Ballincollig in the semi-final.

The Division 3 honours went to Dublin side Castleknock, who were comprehensive winners over Glen Rovers.

It took extra-time to separate Bandon and Four Roads in Division 4, with the Cork side eventually winning by 4-8 to 3-5.

After 15 minutes Bandon were 3-1 to 0-1, but Four Roads came back and went in front. Bandon equalised in the last minute to take it to extra-time, with Stephen Murphy, Darren Collins, and Shane Ahern outstanding for the winners, who were captained by Ciaran Twomey.

Cork County Board chair Tracey Kennedy was delighted as she saw her club, Killeagh/Ita’s lift the Division 6 title, thanks to a Sean Meade hat-trick. Dylan McCarthy rowed in with five points in their 3-8 to 0-4 win, the first Féile title won by the club.

In Division 8, Kilkenny’s Bennettsbridge were 0-6 to 0-4 victors over Bishopstown, with Grenagh runners-up in Division 7.

The Slashers headed home to Roscommon as Division 9 title holders after beating St Mark’s.

In the Shield, for teams who finished third and fourth in their groups, extra-time saw Erin’s Own past Naas.

There was an all-Cork Division 2 showdown where Inniscarra, captained by Tadhg Lyons, beat Bride Rovers thanks to green flags from Michael Murphy and Daniel O’Connell.

Division 3 was won by Watergrasshill, with Whitechurch keeping the Cork run going in Division 4 with goals from Daragh O’Connell and Evan Crowley.

Ballygiblin were successful in the Division 6 final, with Ibane Gaels, Carraig na bhFear and Ahan Gaels all making Shield finals as well.

On the camogie front, Clonakilty, lifted the Division 2 title. Two goals from Katie O’Driscoll put them on their way. Aoife Whelton and Sara O’Sullivan were also on the score- sheet.

The Ballyhea/Milford combination saw a third title remaining in the host county, as they beat fellow host county side, Causeway.

The road to Roscommon may have been long, but for Four Roads it was a good one after their 3-1 to 1-2 win over Nemo Rangers.

Grenagh and Bray Emmets from Wicklow shared the Division 5 shield as they ended level AET.

See full results on Echolive.


Cup results: 

Div 1: Turloughmore (Galway) 3-6, Na Piarsaigh 1-1.

Div 2: Kilcormac/Killoughey (Offaly) 1-6, Valley Rovers 0-6. 

Div 3: Castleknock (Dublin) 1-12, Glen Rovers  0-3.

Div 4: Tullamore (Offaly) 1-9, Clontarf (Dublin) 0-2.

Div 5: Bandon 4-8, Four Roads (Roscommon) 3-5 AET.

Div 6: Killeagh/Ita's (Cork) 3-8, Mullinavat (Kilkenny) 0-4.

Div 7: Ruairí Óg (Antrim) 2-7, Grenagh 0-4.

Div 8: Bennettsbridge (Kilkenny) 0-6, Bishopstown 0-4.

Div 9: Longford Slashers (Longford) 3-3, St Mark's 1-1.

Div 10: Micheal Breathnach (Galway) 2-6, Southern Gaels (Westmeath) 0-4.

Shield results:

Div 1: Erins Own 1-6, Naas (Kildare) 0-7 aet.

Div 2: Inniscarra 2-5, Bride Rovers 0-1.

Div 3: Watergrasshill 1-4, St James (Wexford) 1-3.

Div 4: Whitechurch 2-8, Ardfert/St Brendan's (Kerry) 0-0.

Div 5: O'Rahillys (Down) 4-4, Ibane Gaels 1-3.

Div 6: Ballygiblin 2-3, Padraig Pearses (Roscommons) 0-4.

Div 7: Durlas Og (Tipperary) 2-3, Carraig na bhFear 2-2.

Div 8: Castleblaney (Monaghan) 2-3, Ahan Gaels 0-1.

Div 9: Carndonagh (Donegal) 3-2, St Laurences (Kildare) 0-3.

Div 10: St Dominics (Roscommon) 3-3, Kilmessan (Meath) 1-5.


Cup results: 

Div 1: Éire Óg 0-5, Sarsfields 0-2.

Div 2: Clonakilty 2-5, Loughgiel (Antrim) 1-3.

Div 3: Ardrahan (Galway) 1-3, Na Fianna (Meath) 1-2.

Div 4: Moycarkey (Tipperary) 2-2, Mallow 1-4 AET.

Div 5: Ballyhea/Milford 1-8, Causeway (Kerry) 0-4.

Div 6: Four Roads (Roscommon) 3-1, Nemo Rangers 1-2.

Shield results: 

Div 1: Dicksboro (Kilkenny) 1-3, Newcastlewest (Limerick) 0-3.

Div 2: Nass (Kildare) 3-5, St Mullins (Carlow) 2-5.

Div 3: St Ibar's (Wexford) 2-3, Kilmaley (Clare) 0-6.

Div 4: De La Salle (Waterford) 1-3, Bishopstown 0-1.

Div 5: Bray Emmets (Wicklow) 2-1, Grenagh 1-4, shield shared AET.

Div 6: Aughrim (Wicklow) 1-5, Edendork (Tyrone) 1-1.

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add Echolive.ie to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more