Ballincollig, Carbery Rangers and Haven in the hat for second round draw

Ballincollig, Carbery Rangers and Haven in the hat for second round draw
Ballincollig's Cian Dorgan breaks clear against Skibb. Picture Denis Boyle

THREE recent Cork Senior Football Championship winners find themselves sweating on the draw for the second round which takes place at Páirc Uí Chaoimh tonight.

Carbery Rangers, Ballincollig and Castlehaven are in the drum for the do-or-die round where the winners progress to round 3, but the losers end all hopes of handling the Andy Scannell Cup for another 12 months.

The Rosscarbery club, who were champions for the first time three years ago, lost out to fellow west Cork club, Ilen Rovers, by a goal, 2-9 to 1-9, in one of a number of shock first-round results.

Ballincollig, the 2014 winners, who also reached the 2016 decider, were pipped by 0-12 to 0-10 by a resurgent O’Donovan Rossa, whose U21s also captured the very competitive Carbery title and then drew with St Finbarr’s in the first-round of the county.

The biggest upset came with newcomers Fermoy’s 1-9 to 0-11 win over five-times champions, Castlehaven, whose most recent victory came in 2013 and they were also finalists a couple of years later.

Now, this fancied trio are dreading the prospect of being paired with one of the others in a draw which also has a string of premier intermediate champions of recent vintage, as well.

Conor Cahalane, Castlehaven, challenges Fermoy keeper Liam Coleman. Picture: Jim Coughlan.
Conor Cahalane, Castlehaven, challenges Fermoy keeper Liam Coleman. Picture: Jim Coughlan.

In all there are five, ranging from the 2010 winners, Newcestown, to Mallow, who triumphed two years ago, and including Carrigaline, Valley Rovers and Clyda Rovers who were champions in 2015, 14 and 13 respectively.

City clubs, Bishopstown and St Nick’s, who lost to Douglas and Dohenys in that order, complete the list of teams.

The round 3 draw is also scheduled and includes Duhallow, last season’s beaten finalists and strong contenders once more, as well as UCC, the two teams who emerged from the divisions/colleges section.

There are two city clubs in the round 2 premier intermediate draw, St Vincent’s and Nemo Rangers’ second string, and they will be joined by Aghada, who regraded from senior last season.

The third round draw includes St Michael’s, who lost to Fermoy in last year’s final, and Na Piarsaigh, who overcame Aghada by a point in an exciting round 1 game, which needed extra-time.

The 2018 intermediate winners, Cill na Martra, are also in the hat for the third round while junior champions, Dromtarriffe, await their fate in round 3 of the intermediate championship along with Knocknagree, one of the favourites to go all the way.

This is the list of teams for tonight’s six football draws.

Darragh Hayes tackling Jack Collins, Ilen Rovers. Picture: Denis Boyle
Darragh Hayes tackling Jack Collins, Ilen Rovers. Picture: Denis Boyle

SFC R2: Mallow, Clyda Rovers, Carrigaline, Newcestown, Valley Rovers, St Nick’s, Bishopstown, Castlehaven, Carbery Rangers, Ballincollig.

SFC R3: Kiskeam, St Finbarr’s, Clonakilty, Nemo Rangers, Dohenys, Douglas, Fermoy, Ilen Rovers, Duhallow, O’Donovan Rossa, UCC.

PIFC R2: Newmarket, Aghada, Macroom, Nemo Rangers, Castletownbere, Éire Óg, Naomh Abán, St Vincent’s.

PIFC R3: Bandon, Na Piarsaigh, St Michael’s, Bantry Blues, Kanturk, Cill na Martra, Ballingeary.

IFC R2: St Finbarr’s, Glenville, Mitchelstown, Ballinora, Grenagh, Ballydesmond, Kildorrery, Millstreet, Adrigole, Youghal.

IFC R3: Glanworth, Mayfield, Gabriel Rangers, Dromtarriffe, Aghabullogue, Knocknagree, Kinsale, Glanmire, Rockchapel.

Meanwhile, a new U20 development league starts tomorrow night with the late, great John Kerins remembered.

The outstanding goalkeeper in Cork’s back-to-back All-Irelands in 1989-90, will be recalled as the competition is named in his honour.

The John Kerins Cup brings Cork, Kerry, Dublin, Galway and Kildare together in a quick-fire league with the top team winning out.

The competition, which has Cork and Kerry in action in Clonakilty tomorrow evening at 7pm, is to replace challenge games before the first round games in the provincial championship.

Cork’s other games are away to Dublin on Saturday, home to Galway a week later before wrapping up away to Kildare on June 12.

Cork have a bye to the semi-final in Munster, where they meet either Waterford or Clare on July 11 in either Clonakilty or Ennis. They play on July 2 with the Banner tipped to advance.

Cork are managed by Keith Ricken (St Vincent’s) with former star forwards Colm O’Neill (Ballyclough) and Michéal Ó Croinín (Naomh Abán) joined by Maurice Moore (Carbery Rangers) and Pat Spratt (Buttevant) as selectors.

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more