Seven Cork players named in the Lidl League Team of the Year

Seven Cork players named in the Lidl League Team of the Year
Hannah Looney and Niamh Cotter both won All-Stars. Picture: Brendan Moran/Sportsfile

SEVEN Cork players have been named on the 2019 Division 1 Lidl Ladies NFL team of the league.

Cork’s march to a first League title since 2017, and a 12th in all, has been acknowledged with seven players on the Division 1 team.

Beaten finalists Galway have four players honoured, 2018 winners Dublin have two players included, while Donegal and Tipperary have one player each on the prestigious 15.

Cork have goalkeeper and Lidl NFL Final day captain Martina O’Brien listed, along with defenders Hannah Looney, Melissa Duggan and Shauna Kelly.

Niamh Cotter, so instrumental in Cork’s campaign, is named at midfield, while there are slots for Eimear Scally and Orla Finn, Player of the Match in the Final victory over Galway, in attack.

The players will receive their awards at Croke Park on Friday evening, May 31.

Division 1 Lidl NFL Team of the League:

Martina O’Brien (Cork); Martha Byrne (Dublin); Hannah Looney (Cork); Melissa Duggan (Cork); Shauna Kelly (Cork); Sinéad Burke (Galway); Charlotte Cooney (Galway); Louise Ward (Galway); Niamh Cotter (Cork); Karen Guthrie (Donegal); Niamh McEvoy (Dublin); Aishling Moloney (Tipperary); Eimear Scally (Cork); Róisín Leonard (Galway); Orla Finn (Cork).

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more