Plenty of mouth watering ties as Cork Championship fixtures announced

Plenty of mouth watering ties as Cork Championship fixtures announced
Midletons, Sam Quirke and Sarsfields, Ben O'Driscoll in action in the FE 18 HPC at Cobh, GAA grounds. Pic: Gavin Browne


 SARSFIELDS will take on Douglas in the third round of the Senior Hurling Championship, which means one of the favourites for glory will bite the dust in August.

Sars, backboned by Daniel Kearney, Conor O’Sullivan and Jack O’Connor, are always leading contenders for the Seán Óg Murphy canister and hammered Killeagh back in April. Douglas – led by Eoin and Alan Cadogan and Shane Kingston – have been energised by Shane Brick and Kieran Kingston’s appointment to the management. However, they couldn't have been handed a tougher tie in their quest to make a senior breakthrough.

Other big games in the draw made at Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Tuesday night, included St Finbarr’s against Na Piarsaigh, a classic southside-northside joust, and the potential repeat of last year’s county final, with Imokilly taking on the winners of Ballymartle and Midleton.

The divisional powerhouse are gunning for three titles in succession but Midleton lost a thriller to Glen Rovers in round one.

Patrick Horgan and the Glen are paired with Darragh Fitzgibbon and Charleville later in the summer. The Ben O'Connor-coached outfit edged out Erin's Own after extra time in a belter in April.

UCC who took some major scalps in recent seasons will face Bishopstown. Another draw will be made when the next two phases are completed for the quarter- and semi-finals, which will avoid repeat pairings and also seed the teams that made last year's semis.

The Premier Intermediate grade is arguably the most even in the entire championship and the backdoor threw up a series of cracking ties. Ballincollig face Courceys, it’s Youghal versus Carrigaline and Cloyne collide with Valleys.

Four clubs received byes into the quarter-finals, Kilworth, Castlelyons, Blarney and Watergrasshill. That will be particularly useful to Castlelyons, given Colm Spillane's ongoing absence through injury.

The lower intermediate level is labyrinthine given the number of teams involved, though Mayfield and Kildorrery stands out from the second round. Last year's junior champions Cloughduv will take on Kilbrittain or Dungourney in round three.


ROUND TWO: Erin’s Own v Kanturk; Newcestown v Newtownshandrum; Carrigtwohill v Killeagh; Ballyhea v Bride Rovers; Ballymartle v Midleton.

ROUND THREE: Na Piarsaigh v St Finbarr’s; Charleville v Glen Rovers; Erin’s Own/Kanturk v Ballyhea/Bride; Sarsfields v Douglas; Ballymartle/Midleton v Imokilly; Newcestown/Newtown v Blackrock; Carrigtwohill/Killeagh v Bandon; Bishopstown v UCC.


ROUND TWO: Youghal v Carrigaline; Cloyne v Valley Rovers; Courcey Rovers v Ballincollig.

ROUND THREE: Aghada v Youghal/Carrigaline; Ballinhassig/Inniscarra v Mallow; Courcey Rovers/ Ballincollig v Cloyne/Valley Rovers; Fr O’Neill’s v Fermoy.

QUARTÉR-FINALS: Kilworth v Aghada/Youghal/Carrigaline; Castlelyons v Ballinhassig/Inniscarra/Mallow; Blarney v Courceys/Ballincollig/Cloyne/Valleys; Watergrasshill v Fr O’Neill’s/Fermoy.


ROUND TWO: Barryroe v St Catherine’s; Milford v Midleton; Douglas v Ballinhassig; Kilbrittain v Dungourney; Mayfield v Kildorrery; Dripsey v Na Piarsaigh.

ROUND THREE: A1. Castlemartyr v Barryroe/St Catherine’s; A2. Milford/Midleton v Éire Óg; B1. Blackrock v Grenagh; B2. Milford/Midleton v Tracton; C. Aghabullogue v Glen Rovers; D. Dripsey/Na Piarsaigh v Douglas/Ballinhassig; E. Ballygarvan v Sarsfields; F. St Finbarr’s v Argideen Rangers; G. Kilbrittain/Dungourney v Cloughduv; H. Meelin v Ballymartle.

QUARTÉR-FINALS: A1 or A2 v B1 or B2; C v D; E v F; G v H.

Andrew Turner, St. Finbarrs, Ben Murphy and Sean Murphy, Bishopstown in the Under 21 Premier Football City Championship at Ballinlough, Cork. Picture: Jim Coughlan.
Andrew Turner, St. Finbarrs, Ben Murphy and Sean Murphy, Bishopstown in the Under 21 Premier Football City Championship at Ballinlough, Cork. Picture: Jim Coughlan.


HOLDERS, St Finbarr’s, face a serious challenge in round 3 of the county senior football championship following the draw at Pairc Ui Chaoimh last night.

The Togher club meet either Castlehaven or Carbery Rangers, both recent champions, as well, in the stand-out tie for a place in the quarter-finals, the draw for which will take place at a later stage.

The west Cork rivals square up in the most attractive round 2 of the four ties in a game which brings the Haven, champions in 2013, against their Rosscarbery neighbours, who won their first title three years later.

City clubs, Bishopstown and St Nick’s, meet Carrigaline and Mallow respectively for a place in the third round while there’s an edge to the meeting of Newcestown and Valley Rovers, also in round 2.

There’s another west Cork derby in round 3 with the clash of O’Donovan Rossa and Clonakilty, two clubs who appear to be in major revival mode this season.

The Skibbereen club are the Carbery u21 champions, always a very competitive championship, while Clon supply brothers Mark and Sean White, Tom Clancy and Liam O’Donovan to the Cork set-up.

City neighbours, Douglas and Nemo Rangers, are up against UCC and Dohenys respectively in round 3 while newcomers, Fermoy, shock winners over the Haven in round 1, face Ilen Rovers.

In premier intermediate city clubs Nemo Rangers second string and St Vincent’s face tough assignments in round 2, taking on Castletownbere and Macroom respectively.

At the same stage, Aghada, who regraded from senior this season, were paired with Eire Og in what’s expected to be another closely fought contest.

There’s a city derby between last year’s beaten finalists, St Michael’s and Na Piarsaigh in the quarter-finals after the pair were handed byes straight to the round of last eight.

Knocknagree, one of the intermediate favourites, meet either Ballinora or Adrigole in round 3 with St Finbarr’s, possibly, awaiting in a repeat of last season’s encounter, won by the city club.

The draws are: 

SFC R2: Newcestown v Valley Rovers; Carrigaline v Bishopstown; Clyda Rovers v Ballincollig; Mallow v St Nick’s; Castlehaven v Carbery Rangers.

R3: Douglas v UCC; O’Donovan Rossa v Clonakilty; Duhallow v Carrigaline or Bishopstown; Dohenys v Nemo Rangers; Mallow or St Nick’s v Newcestown or Valley Rovers; Kiskeam v Clyda Rovers or Ballincollig; Fermoy v Ilen Rovers; St Finbarr’s v Castlehaven or Carbery Rangers PIFC R2: Castletownbere v Nemo Rangers; Macroom v St Vincent’s; Eire Og v Aghada; Naomh Aban v Newmarket.

R3: Cill na Martra v Macroom or St Vincent’s; Castletownbere or Nemo Rangers v Bandon; Naomh Aban or Newmarket v Eire Og v Aghada Quarter-finals: Na Piarsaigh v St Michael’s, Cill na Martra v Macroom or St Vincent’s, Kanturk v winners Cill na Martra, Macroom or St Vincent’s; Ballingeary v winners Castletownbere, Nemo, Bandon.

IFC R2: Glenville v Mitchelstown; Ballinora v Adrigole; St Finbarr’s v Grenagh; Youghal v Millstreet; Kildorrery v Ballydesmond.

R3: C Glenville or Mitchelstown v Dromtarriffe; D Glanmire v Kildorrery or Ballydesmond, E Rockchapel v Glanworth; F Youghal or Millstreet v Mayfield; G Knocknagree v Ballinora/Adrigole; H St Finbarr’s or Grenagh v Aghabullogue.

Quarter-finals: Kinsale v Gabriel Rangers, winners C v D, winners E v winners F, winners G v winners H.

More in this section

Sponsored Content



Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more