Tomás Clancy is in to face Dublin but O’Hanlon remains a doubt

Tomás Clancy is in to face Dublin but O’Hanlon remains a doubt
Tomás Clancy. Picture: Oliver McVeigh/Sportsfile

CORK have named Killian O’Hanlon in the team to play Dublin in the Super 8s at Croke Park on Saturday at 7pm.

However, the Kilshannig midfielder needs medical clearance after going off with a head injury against Laois.

The team shows one change, with Tomás Clancy (Fermoy) replacing Kevin O’Donovan in Cork’s re-jigged defence.

“We won’t know about Killian until later in the week,” said coach Ronan McCarthy.

“It could be right up to throw-in before we know.

“He is being monitored daily by the medical team and is following the return-to-play protocol concerning head injuries.”

Neither Nathan Walsh nor Eoghan McSweeney make the 26-strong panel. Walsh is expected to recover from a hamstring injury, but McSweeney suffered a slight setback, according to McCarthy.

Dublin are not expected to have James McCarthy available following his knee injury against Meath in the Leinster final.

Philly McMahon is tipped to retain his place at corner-back, despite not having played in the league.

Jonny Cooper’s foot injury has kept him sidelined since the league game against Tyrone.

Meanwhile, there are 34 players in the Cork U20 panel for the Munster semi-final against Waterford in Clonakilty on Friday at 7pm.

It includes Damien Gore and fit-again Colm O’Callaghan, who suffered a cruciate knee ligament injury last season. The team will be announced tomorrow night.

CORK (vs Dublin): M White (Clonakilty); J Loughrey (Mallow), T Clancy (Clonakilty), K Flahive (Douglas); L O’Donovan (Clonakilty), T Clancy (Fermoy), M Taylor (Mallow); I Maguire (St Finbarr’s), captain, K O’Hanlon (Kilshannig); K O’Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaighs), S White (Clonakilty), R Deane (Bantry Blues); M Collins (Castlehaven), B Hurley (do), L Connolly (Nemo Rangers).

Subs: MA Martin (do), A Browne (Newmarket), K O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers), P Murphy (Bandon), S Cronin (Nemo Rangers), C Kiely (Ballincollig), R O’Toole (Éire Óg), J O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers), P Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), M Hurley (Castlehaven), S Sherlock (St Finbarr’s).

CORK (U20 PANEL): C Smith (Aghabullogue), P Ring (do), M Hodnett (Carbery Rangers), I Giltinan (Carrigaline), J McCarthy (do), R Maguire (Castlehaven), M Shanley (Clonakilty), F Herlihy (Dohenys), B Hartnett (Douglas), C Russell (do), J Murphy (Éire Óg), C O'Callaghan (do), D Connolly (Glanworth), P O'Driscoll (Ilen Rovers), captain, D O'Connell (Kanturk), C Lankford (Kilavullen), D Gore (Kilmacabea), B Curtin (Kilshannig), K Twomey (do), E O'Hanlon (do), S Meehan (Kiskeam), M Mahoney (Knocknagree), S Hickey (Millstreet), C O'Mahony (Mitchelstown), M Cronin (Nemo Rangers), J O'Donovan (do), G O'Donovan (Newcestown), D Buckley (do), J O'Keeffe (Newmarket), B Hayes (St Finbarr's), C Barrett (do), L Grainger (St Michael's), E O'Donovan (do), B Murphy (St Vincent's)

More in this section

Sponsored Content

Add to your home screen - easy access to Cork news, views, sport and more