Four Cork footballers selected on Electric Ireland Minor Team of the Year

Four Cork footballers selected on Electric Ireland Minor Team of the Year
Cork’s Darragh Cashman with Evan Nolan of Galway. Picture: INPHO/Tommy Dickson

FOUR Cork minor footballers have been included in the Electric Ireland Team of the Year.

Darragh Cashman from Millstreet, centre-back Daniel Linehan, Castlemagner, Buttevant’s Michael O’Neill and captain fantastic Conor Corbett, Clyda Rovers, did enough to impress the judges across the campaign where Cork came through the backdoor to lift the cup for the first time since 2000.

The team was selected by a panel of GAA experts, including former Dublin footballer, Tomás Quinn and Donegal’s most decorated footballer, Karl Lacey, and was fed into in part by Electric Ireland’s ‘Player of the Week’ initiative on Twitter.

They will also select an overall Football Player of the Year whose name will be announced at the 2019 Electric Ireland GAA Minor Star Awards event. Corbett will be hot favourite for that gong, after he nailed 1-7 from play in the All-Ireland final.

Picture: Eddie O'Hare
Picture: Eddie O'Hare

The 2019 season featured an incredibly high standard of play, showcasing the bright future of the GAA. Minor players across the country showed their resilience, commitment and dedication this season, proving once again that there is nothing minor about playing Minor.

This year’s Electric Ireland selections features four Rebels, four players from six-time winners and 2019 finalists, Galway, two players from Munster champions Kerry, two players from Connacht champions Mayo, and one player from each of Kildare, Monaghan and Tyrone.

2019 Electric Ireland Football Team of the Year: Devon Burns, Kerry (Na Gaeil); Jonathan McGrath, Galway (Caherlistrane), Oisín Tunney, Mayo (Breaffy), Ronan Boyle, Monaghan (Truagh Gaels); Darragh Cashman (Millstreet), Daniel Linehan (Castlemagner), James Donaghy, Tyrone (Carrickmore St Colmcilles); Ethan Henry, Mayo (Mayo Gaels), James McLaughlin, Galway (Moycullen); Aaron Browne, Kildare (Celbridge), Conor Corbett (Clyda Rovers), Michael O’Neill (Buttevant); Daniel Cox, Galway (Moycullen), Tomo Culhane, Galway (Salthill-Knocknacarra), Dylan Geaney, Kerry (Dingle).

More in this section

Sponsored Content