Fr O’Neill’s pushed hard by Limerick champions in Munster hurling cracker

Fr O’Neill’s pushed hard by Limerick champions in Munster hurling cracker

Blackrock 1-20 Fr O’Neill’s 2-19 (AET)

FR O’NEILL’S survived an almighty test in Kilfinane yesterday to book their place in the Munster Club Intermediate Hurling Championship semi-final against Broadford of Clare next Sunday in Castletownroche.

The Cork side eventually seeing off a gallant Blackrock in extra-time after an absolutely brilliant encounter.

It was hard luck on the home team who fought back to draw level in normal time through a Gavin O’Loughlin penalty, 1-15 to 2-12, O’Loughlin a former winner with Cork club Sarsfields. But the Cork outfit drove home their supremacy late on.

Blackrock set the tone and had three points on the board before Billy Dunne got an O’Neill’s goal. The Limerick champions went toe-to-toe until Declan Dalton bagged a second goal for Fr O’Neill’s three minutes from the interval.

Kevin O’Sullivan’s point in the third minute of stoppage left Fr O’Neill’s 2-6 to 0-9 up at the interval.

The second half was nip and tuck with both sets of defences on top. Blackrock drawing level through Dave Moloney in the 55th minute, 2-9 to 0-15.

Fr O’Neill’s closed out with two points from Dalton and one from Liam O’Driscoll and looked set for victory. That is until Kevin Palmer won a penalty and with the last play, O’Loughlin obliged.

After the first period of extra time, Fr O’Neill’s pushed 2-17 to 1-16 ahead. Blackrock reduced the gap to one in stoppage time but Joe Millerick’s late, late point guaranteed the win.

Scorers for Blackrock: P Leahy 0-7 (0-5 f), R O’Shaughnessy 0-5, G O’Loughlin 1-1 (1-0 pen), D Dawson 0-3, K Palmer 0-2, M Farrell (f), D Moloney 0-1 each.

Fr O’Neill’s: D Dalton 1-9 (0-7 f, 0-1 65), B Dunne 1-1, M O’Keeffe 0-3, T Millerick 0-2, J Millerick, K O’Sullivan, L O’Driscoll, J Hankard 0-1 each.

BLACKROCK: R Murphy; I O’Brien, R McCarthy, S Hennessy; M Farrell, B Moloney, L Walsh; D Moloney, P Leahy (c); R O’Shaughnessy, G O’Loughlin, A Cooke; D Dawson, K Palmer, D Heffernan.

Subs: C O’Keeffe for A Cooke (46), D O’Flaherty for C O’Keeffe (4 ET), B O’Shaughnessy for D Heffernan (half-time ET).

Fr O’NEILL’S: C Sloane; M Millerick, Adrian Kenneally, G Millerick; J Barry, D Harrington (jc), T Millerick; J Millerick, K O’Sullivan; M O’Keeffe (jc), R Cullinane, P McMahon; E Conway, D Dalton, B Dunne.

Subs: Adam Kenneally for Adrian Kenneally (22 inj), L O’Driscoll for E Conway (40), J Hankard for R Cullinane (45), C Broderick for J Millerick (52), P Butler for J Barry (53), J Barry for Adam Kenneally (ET), J Millerick for P McMahon (half time ET), R Cullinane for C Broderick (18 ET).

Referee: Philip Kelly (Tipperary).

More in this section

Sponsored Content